/ V*^"/- ^'??f;.'/ v*<^>*
•^> Oi. r(\\ sStf //I-L « rv *-> >-=ffl 1 Ht--i3) "S* v
,,.' .0'' V **«°° ** O *.,,• .0 V *s*°' op
A* *L^> *> v" *:*°- V A* ,iv :+ *> J
. t. * A ^>
- .. «' A <^ *°. »« A^ \r>
MAR 21 1S39
R. H. TANEYHILL, Esq.
The Leatherwoocl Printing Co.,
Copyright, March, 1899.
The Leatherwood Printing Co.
TWO COPIES RECEIVED.
A Sketch of the Author.
Richard H. Taneyhill was born in Calvert comity.
Maryland, in L822, and was one of a prominent family in
the section of the State in which he was born. When a
lad ten years old he came with his parents to Barnesvile,
and remained a citizen of the community until he died,
with the exception of some years spent in Noble county,
where for a time he conducted a newspaper at Olive.
He began life as a school teacher, but in 1843, he entered
the law office of the Hon. John Davenport and beg'an the
study of law, and was admitted to the bar in ls47. He
continued the practice of that profession until about
fifteen years ago, when his health failing him, he quit
that business, and turned his attention to the more
healthful occupation of raising small fruits, etc. As a
lawyer, Mr. Tane} T hill gained a reputation for his knowl-
edge of the law, and for his oratorical abilities and fierv
debates with colleagues. He was elected mayor of
Barnesville in 1*74, serving one term, and held various
other others <>l" the town and township at other times.
He was an author of no small repute, and his pen was
fluent whether dipped into history or story of fiction or
description. He was a man of wonderful memory, and
being a close student and a profound thinker, he was an
authority upon many subjects, and had dates of public
affairs, men and incidents of our country's history so
firmly fixed in his mind that they were always at his
command. During' his life he contributed largely to the
press of Barnesville and Belmont county. His articles
on local history extended through many numbers of the
Enterprise, under the non deplume of "R. King Bennett,"
entitled "Historical Sketches,'* and have been re-pro-
duced at different times. Among his other articles were
"The Leatherwood God," which attracted much atten-
tion, "Mary Grayson," "Joe Ransom," "The Old Walnut
Table," and many other sketches, which were read with
much interest. He has left quite a number of articles in
manuscript. For several years before his death Mr.
Taneyhill suffered much on account of impaired health,
but his mind remained as firm as ever, and his love of
writing continued to the very last, much of the past sum-
mer being spent in that way. He died the 29th of No-
vember, 1898, aged seventy-six years.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE, OHIO.
BARNESVILLE IN 1832.
AMES BARNES, the founder of Barnesville, was
fi born in Montgomery county, Maryland, and was
a shoemaker by trade and belonged to the So-
ciety of Friends. He came to Ohio early in the century
and started at St. Clairsville a large country store like
those of the times and entered two sections of land in
Warren township — sections 15 and 21. There lived at St.
Clairsville a tanner named James Round. He and Barnes
got acquainted, and as Barnes intended to start a town
on his lands in Warren township, he and Round soon
made a contract that Round go to Barnesville, the in-
tended town, and sink a tanyard. Round agreed to do so,
if Barnes would donate two acres of ground in the town
for a Methodist church and graveyard, which he promised
to do. So Round moved to Barnesville in the summer of
1808 and settled his family in a little log cabin that
stood at the southwest corner of Main and Chestnut
2 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
streets, where the large brick clothiers building - of Will-
iams brothers now stands and at once began to settle
the tanyard. In 1811, Mr. Barnes had erected the large
frame building", so long the residence of the Robert Hop-
per family — lot No. 37. Barnes moved into that house
in is li'.
The town was laid out and platted on the 9th day
of November, 1808. The surveyor was John Brown, then
the county surveyor and deputy sheriff. He was a
local M. E. preacher and grandfather of our townsman,
Henry R. Brown. He afterwards went to Morgan
county, where he died.
The town was laid oft" in blocks of two acres each
and lots one-fourth of an acre each. One acre fronted
on Main street; the other one on what was called back
streets. There were 12S lots in all, besides streets and
alleys. The streets were sixty-six feet wide; alleys a rod.
The entire plat covered about fifty acres of ground. The
fifth block — that on the northeast corner of Main and
Chestnut streets — was not put to sale, but was reserved
by Barnes for the use of his own family.
I came to Barnesville with my father's, family in June,
L832, arriving" after night on the 19th day, which was a
Sunday. We stopped over night at the John O. Parsons
hotel. Awoke to a bright, sunny day made salubrious
by a shower during the night. The first thing' I saw was
a martin box perched above the town sign with martins
flying about it. The next thing I saw was a long" row
of salt barrels under the eave in front of James Barnes &
Son's store. I propose to describe the town just as it
then was, noting every house and vacant spot as they
were in 1832.
Beginning at the east end, lot No. 1 was then va-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 3
cant; now the St. Clair residence stands on it. The
next lot had on it a two-story log" building", then
the residence of Thomas Jones. The rest of the lot w T as
vacant and so was the next lot and also the east side of the
next lot, No. 4. The balance of the lot had on it a little
brick, so long" the residence of Dr. Kemp. The west side
of the lot was vacant. The next w r as the residence of
Nathan Riley with his cabinet-maker's shop. A two-
story log" building" was on the next lot. I do not remem-
ber who lived there. On the next lot was Isaac Kin-
cade's chair factor} 7 . Then there w T as a vacancy w T hen
we come to the family residence of William McLane,
father of our townsmen, James V. and Robinson McLane.
Then there was a little vacant spot. Then w T e ar-
rived at the homestead of George Aduddell a blacksmith.
John Francis, a blacksmith, and a brother-in-law of
Aduddell, lived in the family; also his sister, Nancy
Francis Aduddell. Francis had a shop in another part
of the town. Nancy remained as a member of this family
until she died. We now get to the small log* house, so
long used by John Allen Scofield as a residence; then oc-
cupied by one Nathan Dodd. Along the street westward
on the street edge, were two small frame buildings used
as tailor and shoemaker shops. The balance of the lot
was vacant. On the next lot was the blacksmith shop
of David Snyder. On the next lot was the residence of
Hannah Lewis. She afterwards married John McCune,
who put up the present larg"e frame building". Next
came two or three small frame buildings rig'ht along the
edge of the street westward. They w r ere places where
shoemakers and tailors had their shops. The next lot
was entirely vacant. We next come to the family resi-
dence of Hon. John Davenport, a large brick building,
4 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLiE.
now a part of Dr. Ely's drug" store building, then the fin-
est building in the town. It had been a tavern-stand
many years, kept by one Alexander. The rest of the lot
was vacant then. On the next lot was a little one-story
brick house, the residence of two sisters named Hilton.
We next come to a burnt district where the dwellings of
Robert Mills and Edward Thornburg had stood. On the
next lot was a two-story log, the residence of John Mor-
rison, a saddler. On the next lot was the residence of
William Green, and the store room of Green & Hoyle.
From the store room there projected a board sign with
"Hoyle & Green" painted in flaming yellow letters. We
next arrive at the residence of James Barnes, the pro-
prietor of the town. It was composed of two houses,
one brick, the other of hewn logs. In front was a va-
cancy paled in. We next come to the tavern-stand of
William G. Shankland, the east end of which was a
tine two-story frame with a porch to each story; then the
brick on the west side that was owned by Mrs. Myers,
and which was burnt down in the great fire of 1H93. On
the next lot was the residence of Vachel Barnes, son of
James Barnes, and the store room of James Barnes &
Sons. It is now the Bradfield block. We next come to
the residence of Isaac Barnes, also a son of James
Barnes. The east end of this lot was then vacant, ex-
cept at the southeast corner, where there stood a great
board coal house that dripped on to the sidewalk. The
residence was a fine brick house, and is now the home of
Mrs. Henry T. Barnes. The rest of this lot was vacant.
On the next lot was the residence and store room of
Benjamin H. Mackall, father of the late Col. Benjamin
Mackall. Both buildings still stand. The east side of
the next lot was vacant, then came the residence of Jos-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. i)
eph Gardiner, a two-story log" weather-board. On the west
side was a little frame, the shoe shop of Joseph Gardi-
ner. We next come to the cabinet shop of Archibald
Cole, a wooden building that stood with its end to the
street. Then came the family residence of Archibald
Cole, which is still standing. On the next lot was the
residence and shop of Caleb Hibbard, a silversmith, with
the windows of the shop room hung full of all styles and
sizes of watches, that did one good to look at. On the
back lot of Mr. Hibbard's residence there was the. great
tobacco barn of James Gibson, which was burnt down in
1S41. There was also on this back lot a one-story hewn
log' house, right along Church street. It was built to
tire tobacco in to qualify it for packing into hogsheads
for shipment. It was also the property of James Gibson.
On this lot west was a small, two-story brick. I do not
recollect who lived in it. The next lot was vacant. The
big brick now on it was put up in 1833, by James Gibson.
It was for many years the residence of the late Benja-
min Davenport, and is now owned and resided in by the
family of Vinton Shipley. The late Dr. Painter Shoop,
of Somerton, worked on that house as a stone mason.
On the next lot was a little frame, the residence of John
Harris. On the same lot there was then a one-story
frame with a vacant place in front paled in. It was for
a long time the residence of Crapper Laws, a hatter by
trade. On the next lot on the east side there stood a
small frame used afterwards by Mr. Laws as a hatters
shop. On this lot was the residence of the late Colonel
Benjamin Mackall. There was a large vacancy in front
of the house fenced in. We next come to the two-story
brick, then the residence of one Mosely. It is now the
residence of John D. Talbott. The west side of this lot
I) HISTORY OF BARNESVILX.E.
was then vacant. We then come to a long, two-story
frame house, the residence of John Harlan. Then we
get to the residence of Uncle Zachariah Barnes, w T ho
lived in it may years. It was built of the log's which
constituted the M. E. Church house in Barnesville.
On the back lot of Mr. Barnes' residence was the
little old brick school house right on Church street.
The east half of the next lot w r as vacant; the west half
was the residence of Samuel B. Hilton. He w r as the
grandfather of our townsman, William G. Hilton. Mr.
Hilton was a man of great energy and made things hum
about him while he lived. He died, — 1S44.
The academy lot was then vacant. The academy w r as
put up in 1839 and 1K40. The first session of school in it
was in the winter of 1842-3, taught by Merrill and John-
son. I attended that session. The front of the next^
two lots was vacant; on the back ends were two one-
story log houses, then used as a jjottery, w r hich w r as run
by Mosely and James Round. Round now lives at Cedar
Rapids, Iowa. He has visited Barnesville several times
recently and is in good health, although eighty-five
years old. On the next lot was a small frame and at its
west end there was then a shed-roofed addition, all the resi-
dence of one Barrett. On each of the next two lots
there was a small frame house, but I do not recollect
who occupied them. On the next lot where Dr. Will-
iam's house now stands, was a two-story log house, but
I don't remember who lived in it. On the next lot
there was a two-story log house; don't know who lived
in it. The east side of the next lot was vacant. On its
w T est side was the residence of David Snyder, a black-
smith. On the east side of the next lot was a small
frame that stood with its end to the street, then the resi-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. i
dence of Rhoda Hayes, mother of Carter and Betsey, so
familiar to our people. Then came the large frame
house, then, and for so many years after, the residence
of the Robert Hopper family. To the west side of this
house there was a vacancy. Then we come to the resi-
dence of Dr. Carolus Judkins, the first doctor in Barnes-
ville; also his office. The next lot was then vacant. On
the next was the residence of Abraham Claudy, a black-
smith, and the grandfather of Samuel and Robert Piper,
our townsmen. On the next lot were the residence and
hatter's shop of Panther Laws — a two story log", weather-
boarded. The shop was a small affair of frame. On
the next lot was the blacksmith shop of John Bailey — a
long", one story brick that stood with the end to the
street. On the same lot was the large wagon-maker
shop of James McLeish, with the floor inclined south-
ward, and with two-thirds of the lot roofed all over.
Here was exhibited the various kinds of implements
made by Mr. McLeish. On the west side of this lot was
the residence of Mr. McLeish — a narrow, two-story brick,
with roof all inclined to the east. On the next
lot was a two-story log, the residence of Thomas
Shannon. Along the street on the same lot was a
long, low frame — the old nail factory of James Riggs —
then used by Thomas Shannon for a yellow tobacco
packing house. On the east side of the next lot there
was a small, two-story log house with a porch on all
sides, the residence of Thomas D. Laws. He had a
small grocery shop in the building. The west half was
vacant. The large, brick drugstore room of G. E.
Hilles was put up long afterwards by the Davenports.
This brings us to the John A. Parsons hotel. It was a
two-story log house, weather-boarded, with a stoop that
8 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
projected over the sidewalk. The stoop extended tli3
whole length of the hotel. To the west there stood a
frame with a shed roof. Here whiskey was sold by the
quart. The old brick, now part of the Albert House,
was built in 1833 by James Hare. The great
brick building of the Albert House was part put
up by the Mills brothers, William and Ezekiel, in
18.68 or 1869, and afterwards finished by Marx Albert.
On the next lot west was a one-story brick, the
residence of one Wooten, a tailor. The rest of the lot
was vacant and fenced. The Gamenthaler block stands
now where Wooten's residence stood then. We next
come to the residence of William Moore — a two-story log"
house. Whiskey was sold there then by the quart. On
the next lot was a long two-story log" house weather-
bo irded; then used as a tanner's shop by William
G. Shankland, but run by Nathan S. Vallentine. We
next come to the larg"e brick residence of James Gib-
son and the storeroom of Davenport & Gibson, right
where the Campbell Brothers* shoe store and the Rogers
Brothers' hardware store now stand. We now come to
the residence of Robert Mills, where Williams Brothers
now do business. On the same lot along the edg'e of the
street there were two small frame houses then used by
shoemakers and tailors as shops. On the next lot was
the then residence of James Round. On the next lot was
a tremendous frame building, used as a bark house and
also as a bark mill. On the south end of this lot was
the tan house of the first tannery settled by Mr Round
for James Barnes. It was owned in 1832 by Benjamin
H. Mackall. It was turned into a tobacco packing"
house. We next come to the residence and saddler shop
of John Brown, father of our townsman, Henry R.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. '.I
Brown. The shop was a little frame, and there projected
from it across the sidewalk a board sign with a saddle
painted on it and "John Brown, Saddler,'* in great yel-
low letters. The next lot was vacant. On the next lot
was the residence of John Davenport — a two-story brick.
This lot is now known as the Meek lot. On the next lot
on the east side was a two-story log" house. This was
the first tavern in Barnes ville, and was kept by one
Henry Barnes, a shoemaker. The west half of this lot
was vacant. This brings us to the residence of William
Harper — a one-story frame that stood back from the
street. The front part of this lot was vacant, but
fenced in. Then came a vacancy, where now stands the
Little brick house, so long the home of Mr. James Hare.
On the next lot was the homestead and shop of William
E. Moore, a shoemaker. The next lot was vacant. Then
came the residence and shop of William Hill, a shoe-
maker. It stood back from the street with a yard in front
fenced in. The west half of this lot was vacant then.
We next come to the residence of Capt. Joseph Farley, a
tailor. The next lot was vacant. The next lot had on
it a long double hewn log house, the then residence of
We new go down southward along the east side of
Chestnut street. There was a vacant place right below
the Campbell store room. Then came the old "shot
tower," a tall two-story log built by Davenport and Gib-
son to dry ginseng in. The next lot south was vacant,
as the residence and shop of one Broomhall had been
burnt down. Broomhall was a tinner. We now come to
the little one-story brick that stands yet below the resi-
dence of the Stephen family. On the next lot south
were the residence and cabinet shop of Samuel B. Kim-
ball. Here the town stopped.
Ill HISTORY OF BARNESVILL.E.
Going to the west side of Chestnut street, right be-
low Robert Mill's residence there was another tanyard.
The next lot south was vacant, until we come to a little
frame that stood with the end to the street. Then we
come to the large blacksmith shoo of Aduddell & Fran-
cis. At the corner of South and Chestnut streets was
the residence of Edwin Nelson, a carpenter. His house
was a one-story frame weather-board with split weather-
boarding". It was the only house I ever saw so weather-
boarded. The town stopped here.
On the north end of the James Barnes & Sons store
room lot, there was a small one-story brick built by that
firm to dry ginseng in. There was no building on South
street then, and on Church street only the residences of
Kelion Hager and George 3diH.nl. the Methodist church,
and little brick school house, and a small hewn log. The
Hager house stood at the northeast corner of Church
and Chestnut streets, and was built by the Masons and
school directors jointly. But it proved unpleasant to
both parties, so Mr. Hager bought it. It was a nice two-
story brick. As part pay for the directors' interest, Mr.
Hager put up the little old brick school house. There
was a vacancy going north right back of the Hager
house. Then came a little low, long brick, and there
town stopped. Right east and against the Methodist
church lot was the residence of George Mount. He lived
there for a great many years.
There were then two to four little frame houses
standing where Reed's row now stands. They were the
residences of the woolen factory employes. The old
woolen factory also stood on mill lot in L832. At tin-
northwest corner of mill lot was a little frame used by
John McCune as a hatters shop.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. I 1
There were in Barnesville in L832 just sixty-four
houses used as dwelling's, and although there were many
journeymen mechanics and laborers employed in the
town, its population in L832 did not exceed four hun-
dred all told. It then extended only as I have described.
It is now spread over a full section of land — west half of
section L5 and east half of section 21 — and has a popula-
tion of not less than 4, 200.
The town then was encircled by fields, except just
east of the academy lot, where was a great woods.
Right east of the Kelion Hag"er residence there was
James Barnes" orchard. And right w T est of the Metho-
dist burial ground there was the orchard of James Gib-
son. Beyond the fields was all woods and they were full
of all sorts of game.
Main street in 1832 was called Market street, and
Chestnut w T as called Marietta street. The names were
changed when the town was incorporated.
Barnesville was incorporated in 1834, and Isaac
Barnes was elected mayor, and Lewis H. Green, clerk,
for one year.
I have now given a sketch of the buildings and lots
of the town of Barnesville as it appeared in L832, To
give the reader a better understanding of the different
changes which time has made, the history of the town
will be divided into three periods, the first period ex-
tending from the year of the founding of the town — 1808
to L832, the second from 1832 to L852, and the third from
L852 to the present— 1898.
FIRST PERIOD FROM L808 TO L832.
In L809, Mr. Barnes, the founder of the town, caused
to be erected on lot No. L8, a frame store room and
dwelling under one roof, and in 1810 opened a mercantile
I_ HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
establishment, under the supervision of William Philpot,
the first in the village. Mr. Barnes and his family re-
moved from St. Clairsville to Barnesville in L812. The
first house occupied by him in the town was the front
part of the late Robert Hopper residence on lot No. 42.
Later he removed to lot No. 17, on which he resided un-
til his death. In 1843, Mr. Barnes went to Baltimore
and arranged to go into the tobacco commission busi-
ness. As he was coming" home to prepare for final exit
to Baltimore, he dropped dead in the mountains of Penn-
sylvania, where he was buried. I do not remember what
became of his family. Mr. Barnes had a very strong
voice and in common conversation he could be heard
several hundred feet away.
Aunt Nancy, the wife of James Barnes, was for
many years the time-keeper for the town. With a long",
tin horn she blew the dinner call for the people. The}'
dined at that time precisely at ll' o'clock by Aunt
Nancy's dinner call. A time piece was thought not
worth having that did not keep time with that call.
She was a tall, thin built woman, while Mr. Barnes was
a tall, broad-shouldered man, over six feet, big in pro-
portion. He wore a full suit of the brown Quaker cloth,
cut in the style with the notions of that sect.
MECHANICAL AXI) OTHER INDUSTRIES.
The first saddler was Robert Mills, who came to the
town in L809 and opened his stiop on lot No. 15, and he
carried on that business until his death in L867. The
second saddler was John Brown, who conducted his
trade witli success until about 1840, when he went into
the grocery business. David Snyder was the first black-
smith, and his shop stood on lot No. 11. He continued
at that trade until he left the town in 1834. The second
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. L3
blacksmith was Georg'e Aduddell, who came to town
in the year L815. His shop was on Chestnut street, a lit-
tle north of the Heed corner. In this period John Bailey,
George Dawson and John Francis, also blacksmiths, set-
tled here. John Bailey carried on an extensive factory
of three forges in a brick shop that stood on the west
side of lot No. 45, and did so until L847, when he moved
to Gallia county. Dawson was for awhile the partner
of Snyder, and then became his successor. Francis was
a partner of Aduddell. The first shoemaker was Rev.
Avery West, grandfather of our townsman, Mr. Eli
Moore. He came in 1811 and continued the trade for
about twelve years, when he went to farming". During"
the war of 1812, Joseph Gardiner came to this place and
started a shoemaker's shop. In 1816 he bought a dwell-
ing and shop on lot No. 23. Here he carried on his trade
until his sons, Asbury and Wesley, became his success-
ors in 1833. The "three Williams" — William Moore,
William Hill, and William Parsons — were also shoemak-
ers here in this period, all coming about the close of the
war of 1812. Archibald Cole was the first cabinet maker,
and he settled here during the war, and remained until
his death. Kelion Hager, as a journeyman, worked
with Cole. Cole's shop was on lot No. 24. Nathan
Riley was the next. His shop stood on lot No. 5. He
was the only undertaker in the tow r n up to 1845, and he
was the maker of over a thousand coffins. Samuel Kim-
ball was the next. His shop and residence were the
houses at Jack Heed's corner. William Bloomfield was
the first tinner in the town. Joel Judkins, Edward
Thornburg, and Joseph Brown were the first hatters, all
coining together and working together in a shop on lot
No. 15. Panther Laws and John McCune were the next
It HISTORY OP BARNESVILLE.
hatters. Laws" shop stood on lot No. 45, and McCune's
on the old mill lot on Chestnut street. The only silver-
smith here in this period was Caleb Hibbard, whose
shop was on lot No. 25. He was the grandfather of our
townsman, Mr. Frank Hibbard. He left the town in
LH33. A clock made by him upwards of sixty years ago
is now in possession of Mr. Frank Hibbard, who prizes
it highly as a family relic. It is an excellent time-
keeper. The only tailors here during this period, of
whom I have certain knowledge, were William Mitten
and Joseph Farley. They came about l^l'O and remained
until about L837, when Farley died and Mitten went to
JAMES RIGG'S NAIL FACTORY.
In 1810 James Riggs, of Hagerstown, Maryland,
came to Barnes ville and erected a long, wooden build-
ing of one story as a wrought nail factory. The house
was lengthwise the street, and stood where the Masonic
hall now stands. It had three forges. It was a very
lucrative business until the cut nail machine ran wrought
nails out of the market, when Mr. Riggs sold out and
bought a farm south of town on section 14. This farm
adjoins Silas Smith's on the east.
Mr. Riggs was a Methodist, but he despised negroes.
Now at the Methodist church there worshipped one Lee
Baler, a colored man, and he usually sat back towards
the door. There was his seat when Mr. Riggs moved to
Barnesville. Mr. Baler one Sunday went up a few seats
further than was his wont. Mr. Riggs could not brook
that act of Baler, so he arose, went to Baler, took him
by the arm and put him out of the house. The members
of the church were in high dudgeon at this conduct of
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 1 .">
Mr. Riggs, but he was a man not to be trilled with, so
the incident soon lost its interest, as no one said any-
thing to Mr. Ring's about his act. Mr. Riggs was the
father of Mrs. Doctor Isaac Hoover, the mother of Mrs.
Mary Bowman, of Barnesville, and Dr. Thomas Hoover,
of Columbus, very excellent people all. Dr. Thomas
Hoover is a physician of high repute in Columbus.
William Henderson started a spinning and liax
wheel factory in 1812, and shortly after joined to that
the making" of wooden bowls. The Hon. William Haw-
kins, late of McConnellsville, learned the trade with
Henderson. Mr. Hawkins was a local politician of great
merit and represented Morgan county several times in
the legislature. He was a member of the Constitutional
Convention of 1851. About the same time — 1812 — one
Tegard began the manufacture of chairs of various pat-
terns. The best among them was an old-fashioned
"Windsor,** very substantial, if not elegant, and man} 7
of them are still in use- in this region. A pottery was
erected near the end of the war by one Romaine, on the
hill just back of the academy building. Here for many
years were made the old red clay crocks, jugs, and jars,
so much used by the people. It went down in 1833.
During all this period, from L820, bricks were chiefly
manufactured by the late William Piper. The Barnes-
ville Steam Mill Company was incorporated in L814. It
immediately erected a very large grist mill and woolen
factory on the grounds now used for the planing mill of
the Rogers brothers. The mill had two run of burrs,
and the woolen factory had six carding machines, two
spinning jennies, two pickers, one power and six hand
16 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
Looms, dressers sufficient for the looms, fulling stocks
and a press. The company soon failed, when James
Barnes became sole owner. He ran the woolen factory
until 1835, and the mill until his death. In 1815 James
Barnes built a brick house on lot No. 20, in which to
prepare ginseng' and snake root for shipment, and for a
decade did a large business with these articles. About
1825 James McLeish, a Scotchman, erected a manufac-
tory of wagons, plows, and farming implements in gen-
eral on lot No. 46. He did an immense business. He
was the inventor of a bar-shear plow, which met a long-
felt want. He closed business about the beginning of
In 1810 James Barnes opened the first store in the vil-
lage. "Store" is the right name for such an atiair. It
contained dry goods, groceries, hardware, holloware,
queensware, glassware, leather, salt, etc. About 1820,
Barnes erected the brick house, so long the Bradtield
residence and dry goods store room, and which was torn
down in 1889 to give place to the present line brick-
block erected by the Bradilelds. Here he removed his
store which was continued until 1842, when the firm
The second merchant in the town was Hon. Thomas
Shannon, who opened a store in the late Frasier House,
in 1812. He soon, by depression of trade, became bank-
rupt and returned to farming. William Coulson opera-
ted a store here during the war, but failed.
The fourth store was that of Myers and Young, who
began business during the war and failed in 1819. Their
store room stood where Mr. Warrick has his grocery,
HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE. 17
on the corner lot owned 03^ Mrs. Henry T. Barnes. John
Davenport, one of the notable men in the early history
of Barnesville, arrived here in 1818, from Winchester,
Va. In the spring of 1819, he opened a store in the late
Frasier House, and in 1820 formed a partnership with
John Gibson, another prominent citizen, and a large bus-
iness was successfully conducted by them for many
years. For a part of those years William Philpot
was an additional partner. The greater part of the
time their store was kept at the Campbell corner, lot
No. 52. Mummy and Affleck operated a store from 1825
to 1828 at Mrs. H. T. Barnes' corner. This store had at-
tached to it a department of drugs, medicines, paints
and oils. In 1828 this establishment was purchased by
Benjamin H. Mackall, who continued it until his death
in 1835. In about the year 1826 Benjamin Hoyle and
William Green opened a store in the east end of the old
Frasier House, and continued the same during this period.
In 1832 Hoyle retired and Green still continued the busi-
ness at the old stand, until 1847, when he quit and went
to live on his farm. The first grocery was kept by
Thomas D. Laws, which he began in 1830 and aban-
doned in 1832. Allen Green and his son, Lewis H.
Green, began the mercantile business in the frame part
of the Shankland hotel in 1831. They quit business in a
About the year 1824 Barnes, Davenport and Gibson
began to handle leaf tobacco. For that purpose Barnes
built a large barn where the Presbyterian church stands,
and Davenport another where the city hall stands. Gib-
son erected a ureat double barn with an intervening shed
18 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
on the south of the Frank Hibbard lot. Thomas Shan-
non, in 1827, began to handle leaf tobacco in the old nail
factory of James Riggs, and continued to do so to the
end of this period. Immense quantities of leaf tobacco
were handled by these gentlemen to the great benefit
and convenience of the people.
It was a part of the contract between Rev. James
M. Round and Mr. Barnes, that Barnes, in addition to
Round's salary, should also donate two acres of land,
near the village, for the uses of the M. E. Church. In
the summer of 1808, Bishop Francis Asbury, on an epis-
copal tour, stopped with Round, preached a sermon and
selected the two acres to be donated. The ground is that
which comprises the old graveyard, and the lots on which
the Disciples are erecting their new church. In 1810 a
hewed log church was put up a little to the west of the
old brick. It faced to the east, had two great chimneys
at the west end, one at each corner, and built on the
outside of the house; two great fireplaces on the inside,
with the pulpit between. It had one door at the east
end straight with the aisle between the two rows of
seats. The women sat on the north side of the aisle and
the men on the south side. This church house was
built of seventeen great hewn logs donated by farmers.
The room never had any ceiling or flooring overhead, so
that the rafters and roofing remained in sight. The
building was torn down in 1822, and the logs were used
by Uncle Zachariah Barnes, the sexton, to build his
house, where he lived the rest of his life. He died in
1863. Rev. James Round preached the first sermon in
this church, and conducted the first funeral services
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 19
in the old g'raveyard — that of a boy named Daniel Davis
—in 1808. He also performed the first marriage cere-
mony in the village — that of Robert Mills and Miss Pa-
tience Shaw. Mr. Round lived in Barnesville until L834,
when he moved to Sarahsville, then in Morgan county,
where he settled a tanyard and lived many years. In
L852 I had a long conversation with Mr. Round. He
was a small man, but well built, with dark complexion,
dark eyes and hair; his hair was long and fell on his
shoulders. He talked well. He died at Summerheld in
L854. No one man did more for Methodism than this
humble little tanner, as everybody can see by looking" at
Barnesville and its vicinity.
The membership of the Methodist Church increased so
greatly that a larger place of worship became a neces-
sity. So, in 1822, the old brick, which was torn down
the past summer of 1898, to give place to the new Disci-
ples' church, was erected. It was built by Charles
Schur and Ezekiel Chapman of bricks moulded by the
late William Piper. In its structure a fact should here
be related. Right where the old church was put up
there were two Indian mounds. These were found to be
of pure clay and were made into bricks, and the old
brick church and two or three other building's were
built of those bricks. In the center of those mounds
there were heaps of ashes and charcoal. The bricks of
the old brick church were sand-made, the first ever
made in Barnesville. This church was the preaching-
place during the grandest epoch of Methodism in the
town. Here as great men preached as ever illuminated
that faith. Within its walls, eloquence, logic and learn-
ing, unexcelled anywhere, were expended to save the
sinner and to cheer on the saint. Among those rever-
10 HISTORY OF BARNESVIEEE.
ends who there exerted their powers, greatest of all
were Charles Waddell, orator without a rival, Edward
Smith and Kinney, logicians of the hig'hest order, the
Revs. James Drummond, Dy ton and Moffat, who blended
the suave attractions of a Penelon with the convincing
sweep of a Tillotson. These were the only church
houses in the town during this period.
The first tavern in Barnesville was kept by Henry
Barnes, a nephew of James Barnes. The second was
opened and run by one Israel, on lot 49, and occupied
the very ground on which the large part of the Albert
House now stands. The third was the Alexander House,
with the sign of a "black horse." That house is a part
of the Ely block, on the corner of Main and Arch streets.
One Perrell was the next to start a tavern. He had a
ship at full sail as his sign, but he failed to get a
license and had to quit. John O. Parsons, the next in
order, started the "Barnesville Hotel** in 1826, on lot 49.
He continued the business to the end of this period. The
"Mansion House," kept by William G. Shankland, was
opened about the same time on lot 19. I could but mark
the great difference between the signs of the two hotels.
That of the Parson's house was a plain, unpretentious
affair. The words "Barnesville Hotel" were painted in
plain letters around the upper segment of a circle, while
the words "John O. Parsons" were painted in same style
of letters in the lower segment of a circle. The entire
background was painted in white. That of the Shank-
land hotel was the most flashy hotel sig'n I ever saw.
The words "Mansion House" were in gold leaf right
across the center of the sign, while the words "William
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 21
Gr. Shankland", also in gold leaf, were painted on a sepa-
rate piece. The background was dark blue sand. On
the to}) of the main sign was the inevitable martin box,
built like a dwelling house, with gay paints of several
colors spread over it. And the martins fluttered and
chirped about in pleasant style.
It may appear incredible, but it is a fact that nearly
every dwelling house had a martin box, and the birds
kept the streets dark by their shadows as they flew
All the wagoners stopped at the Parsons hotel,
while the bon-tons and upper tendoms stopped at the
Shankland house. Both were excellent hotels, well
kept, by perfect gentlemen. The John 0. Parsons hotel
site needs a special mention. Where the Albert House
stands, there stood the Parsons hotel, a two-story log
house, weather-boarded. The great brick was built in
L869, but the little brick was built for Parsons in 1833,
by James Hare. Parsons sold out to John Reed. While
Reed owned it, one John K. Norton ran the business.
Reed sold it to Robert Mills, who conducted the business
successfully for many years. At his death his sons ran
it a year or two and then sold out to Marx Albert.
While the Mills boys owned it, they began to erect the
large brick, but it was not finished until Marx Albert
NOTABLE AND PROFESSION A L MEN.
Dr. Carolus Judkins, the lirst physician in Barnes-
ville. was born in North Carolina, practiced medicine in
Virginia, and from there he came here in L810. He
bought lot No. 41' and built a dwelling and office on the
22 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
same. This place was his residence during the rest of
his life. For over a fourth of a centun T he was the lead-
ing physician in this part of the state. His practice for
many years extended over an area of eight hundred
square miles. He was one of the first two Abolitionists
in the village. His death took place in 1<S")4.
Hon. Thomas Shannon was born in Washington
county, Pa., and came to Ohio in 1800, and with his
father's family located in Warren township in 1802.
Nearly his entire life was spent here. He was for many
years a dry goods and leaf tobacco merchant, and was
always an enterprising" and public-spirited citizen. He
represented Belmont county in both branches of the
legislature for several terms, in 1826 he was elected to
Congress from the Tenth District, for the short term of
the 19th Congress. Mr. Shannon was the most popular
man that ever lived in Belmont county — he was never
defeated for an office. He died in 1843. His remains
now rest in the Southern cemetery.
Hon. John Davenport was a native of Virginia, and in
that state was superintendent of a woolen factory. Here
he made the acquaintance of a weaver named John Gib-
son, who afterwards became his partner, and was one of
our most prominent citizens in this period. Mr. Daven-
port came to Barnesville in 1818. In 1819 he opened a
store here, and from that time until 1848, when he re-
moved to Woodsfield, he was engaged in that business
and that of leaf tobacco, sometimes with partners and
sometimes by himself. He tilled important offices while
here, in both state and church. Belmont county was
represented by him in both branches of the legislature.
In 1826 he was elected on the same ticket with Thomas
Shannon to Congress, from the Tenth Ohio District. Mr.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 23
Davenport was one of the associate judges in Belmont
county for several years, and also in Monroe county for
a year or two. His death occurred in 1855.
Dr. James Stanton, father of the war secretary,
Edwin Stanton, came here in 1820, and formed a part-
nership with Dr. Carolus Judkins, but he left in a couple
Dr. John C. Bennett, the third physician, located
here in 1825, but soon went careening with Mormonism
and a tomato pill, and was soon lost to view.
Dr. John G. Affleck came here about the same time.
While here he practiced his profession and kept a store.
He was awhile a partner with Bennett. He left the
town in 1830.
Robert Mills, the first saddler in Barnesville, was a
noble, but eccentric man. He was a man of great energ'y,
and after he had become an invalid by rheumatism and
had to go on crutches, he made long trips, soliciting" cus-
tom for his saddlery business and for his tanyard. On
one of those trips he had to cross Seneca creek on a
high bridge. When he had got well on to the bridg'e his
horse took fright, and Mr. Mills, in order to escape w T ith
his life, had to leap from the buggy. This he did just as
the horse and buggy went off the bridge over into the
water. The excitement cured Mr. Mills of the rheuma-
tism, although it left him a cripple for life. Barnesville
never had a better citizen and he died without an enemy,
leaving quite a fortune to his family. There was a fact
occurred to him that controverts the saying" and belief
that if a goose follows a person that person will die
shortly. A goose followed him for several years, and if
he went into a house the goose would wait until he came
out au'ain and then continue to follow him. But the
L'4 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
goose died in a few years, while Mr. Mills lived many
years after the goose was dead. Of course there are
facts that excuse and seem to ];r<!ve the belief, but this
fact tends strongly to prove the opposite to be true.
Mr. Kelion Hager was born in Fayette county, Pa.,
and when quite a young man came to Harnesville and
worked as a journeyman cabinet maker with Archibald
Cole, a relative. In 1821 he was married to a sister of
the late Col. Mackall. When I come to Ohio in 1832, he
was well beforehand. At one time he owned a large
body of land north of town and was employed a long
time in sheep raising. His wool clip at times was very
large, as he had twelve or fifteen hundred head of sheep.
He was also a dry goods merchant and handled leaf to-
bacco. Towards the last of his life he was employed in
the manufacture of lamp oil at Newark, Ohio. Mr. Ha-
ger was a man of wonderful enegy and push and moved
everything right along. Nothing escaped his notice.
But his fame rested on his skill as a fighter of fire.
Long before I came to Barnesville he was the recognized
fire-king of the town. Davenport & Gibson's store room
on lot No. ')- and the long double log house on lot No.
.">1 stood end to end and were only about three feet apart.
The store room was on fire, and Mr. Hager and Hon.
Thomas Shannon, at the risk of their lives, saved both
buildings. Mr. Hager seemed to see at a glance whether
a house on fire could be saved or not. I once saw a
house on tire. It was owned by Levin McCroba as a resi-
dence. It was the house which stands just west of Mr.
Clarkson McKeever's residence. I was at my mother's
on the east hill near the academy. The flames shot out
great volumes of smoke and blaze that seemed to lick
over the whole roof. I ran as fast as I could and got
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. _.>
there just as Mr. Hager appeared on the scene. He
yelled out, "'That house can be saved! This way, all of
you men!" The men already gathered there had left the
house to burn and were tearing" away a lot of little
frames that stood close by. The men came on the in-
stant. Mr. Hager showed them where to throw the
water, and in a few minutes the fire was extinguished.
Mr. Haider was a little dictatorial and when he thought
he was right was fearless in the expression of his opinion,
no matter who opposed it. He was a tall, wiry-built
man, of dark complexion, with dark brown eyes, and he
always walked with great rapidity. No man that ever
lived in the town ruled with greater power than he and
he kept it in a stir while he lived. He worked until a
few weeks before his death, planting fruit trees, prun-
ing others, and grafting fine fruit into inferior stems.
He died in his 85th year, respected by everybody.
ACCIDENTS AND FIRES.
At the raising of the old mill, in 1815, one Vernon,
the grandfather of James V. and Robinson McLane, was
killed by the falling of a bent of timbers at its northeast
Soon after the old woolen factory was started,
James R., a son of William G. Shankland, got caught in
the belting and was instantly killed by being whirled
over the drum. He was a grandson of James Barnes.
Two disastrous fires occurred in town before 1832.
The first took' place in May, 1826. The residence of
Robert Mills and the hatter shop of Judkins & Thorn-
burg and the residence of Thornburg were the buildings
involved in the occurrence, and they were all consumed,
except the residence of Thornburg, which was badly
ll'i HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
scorched — the old. log building that stood just east of
the old Frasier House. The second was the store room
of John Gibson, which stood at the Campbell corner, lot
No. 52. That fire took place in the summer of 1827.
Barnesville, very early in h^r career, gave earnest
attention to the education of her children. Before the
establishment of our common school system in 1825, sev-
eral schools had been taught in the village. The first
school in the town was taught in an old house that stood
at the northwest corner of Arch and South streets. The
next room occupied as a school room was one arranged
for that purpose by Mr. Archibald Cole, on the lot now
occupied by the residence of Miss Celia Boyd. Those
schools were all what were called "subscription schools.''
Each person paid for his own children. In 1828 the
Masons sold the lower story of their hall, which stood
where the residence of Mrs. Dr. Mackall now stands, to
the school directors. The first common school in the
village was taught here by Judah Folke, in the years
1828-29. In 1829 the Masons desired to sell their hall,
but as the school district owned the basement story, no
purchaser could be found. Finally Mr. Kelion Hager
prevailed upon the directors to also sell, he agreeing to
give a lot and put up a school house in consideration of
the low T er story of the Masonic Hall being deeded to him
by the directors. He proceeded at once to erect on a
part of the present school ground a brick building forty
by twenty feet as a school house.
Sl'XJOND PERIOD FROM 1832 TO 1852,
Barnesville in the twentv vears between 1832 and
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 2t
1852 progressed slowly but steadily, and although at
the end of that time she had not doubled in population,
her material development had not been great, and many
failures in business had taken place during" its passage,
yet her lines of business had become more numerous and
great accessions had been made in able business and
professional gentlemen, while a splendid augmentation
had been secured in educational institutions. So this
may rightfully be called her intellectual period.
In 1*33 Dr. Isaac Hoover located here in the midst
of a terriftic scourge of scarlet fever, and at once
bounded to great eminence in his profession, and he
maintained that position until he left the town in 1868.
Early in 1*34 the mercantile house of Hicks, Wooten &
Co. failed. In the same year Bela Manahan and Francis
E. Uncles became citizens here. Manahan opened a
store at Heed's corner, and Uncles a large shoe-making
shop on Main street. In the fall of 1834 the founder of
the town extended its limits by an addition of territory.
It included all of what is called "Calvert," and extended
from Gardner street, at the same width with the origi
nal plot, to the now residence of David Sheldon on West
Hill; also the north side of Church street from the old
brick M. E. Church to Chestnut street, and the west side
of Chestnut from Church street to the John Morrow resi-
dence, and the east side of Chestnut from Kelion Hager's
lot to what is now Cherry street, and also the west side
of Chestnut to where it is crossed by the B. & O. R. R.
All the lots were quickly offered for sale and many of
At the cud of the second period dwellings had been
28 EJISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
creeled upon nearly all the lots of Barnes* addition, with
several on the north side of South street and the south
side of Church street. During" this period a part of the
old mill lot was laid off and sold, beginning at South
street and ending wLh the William H. Folder property,
forming a part of the east side of Chestnut street. On
Main street, original plot, the following dwellings and
business houses were erected in this period, generally in
place of old structures: the frame on No. 1, the brick on
No. 5, the frames on 9, Id, 11, a brick on 12, the west ex-
tention of brick on 13, the frames on 17, 18, the east ex-
tention of brick on 19, the frame on 25, the brick on 26,
the frames on '!:», the frame on 60, the brick on 59, the
frames on 58, 56, 55, 54, 51; a frame on 50— torn down by
Gamenthaler, the old brick on li', the store room of
Hilles on 48, the store room on 17, the brick and frame
on 33, the frame on the west side of 42, the frames on 11,
40, 39, '17, 36, and the old academy building.
MECHANICAL AND OTHER INDUSTRIES.
For the better understanding of the changes of
trades and the progress of business during this period,
it would be well for the reader to keep in mind what the
town was in the first period.
In L833 Aduddell retired from business, and Francis
continued at the old stand until 1840, when he removed
to where Irwin Kinney now lives. He remained there
for the rest of his life. In 1836 Dawson quit blacksmith-
ing and William R. Moore became his successor at the
old stand, but in a few years he removed to the south-
west corner of South and Chestnut streets where he
staid until he died. Elijah Weir for several years car-
ried on a blacksmith shop on Chestnut street. John
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. _'.)
Kelley, a blacksmith, in 1 s4 1 started a shop on lot No.
10, and continued it until L850, when he left for St.
Clairsville, having been elected Treasurer in L849. Mr.
Yearsley Jones, a cooper, started a general manufac-
turing establishment for all kinds of tubs, churns,
buckets, barrels, etc., at the northeast corner of Chest-
nut and South streets in the year L837, and ran it for
about ten years. It was never a success. His son who
worked in his shop afterwards studied medicine and be-
came quite an influential physician in Harrison and Bel-
mont counties. He got up some fine patent medicines
which took with the people and proved to be very good
medicine fcr what it was intended. About the year
L836 Richard Mahana opened a wagon-maker shop here
and continued it until the end of his life. Isaac Perry
about the year 1845 opened a shop for the making of
wagons, plows, and farm utensils, and has continued the
same to the present. Jesse Ball, a tailor, began busi-
ness here about 1836. He remained at the business dur-
ing life. William McK. Brown, Henry R. Brown, Fran-
cis E. Adams, E. D. Barnes and David Gressinger, also
tailors, carried on shops during this period. In 1837
Rev. John N. Hunt with his family settled here. For
many years he operated a large tailor's establishment
in the village, and at the same time did great service in
spreading the gospel as interpreted by the Disciples.
About the year 1836 Nathaniel Vollentine, as successor
of William G. Shankland, opened a tinner's shop near
Heed's corner. He afterwards transferred it to the old
brick next below the Stephen's residence on Chestnut
street, and which is now the residence of Mr. Frank
Damsel. He remained there until 1843, when he sold to
Perrv Nichols, who continued the business until ls47.
30 HISTORY OF BARNESYILLE.
when he removed to Senecaville. In 1843 John Cole
opened a tinner's shop on lot No. 24, and carried on the
business for a g'ood many years. He was succeeded by
his son Charles, who run that business until a few years
ago, w T hen he went into the queensware trade. He sold
out that business recently and is now employed as a
traveling salesman for a large wholesale establishment.
John Morrison, James Armstrong", Joseph Askew, and
Eli Mooney, as saddle and harness makers, had shops
here. About the year 1841 Mr. Stephen Wilson began
that business here, and for many years, with a short in-
terval at Cadiz, he continued here, and a little before
the war of the rebellion removed to Summerfield. The
same business was started by Nathan Patterson about
the year 1< S 47, and was continued by him here until he
entered upon the business of leather merchant. Crapper
H. Laws carried on a hatter*s shop on lot No. 27, from
about the year 1838 to the end of this period. The
brothers, Asbury and Wesley Gardner, having succeeded
to the business of their father, continued the shoemak-
er's trade at the old stand, lot 23, until about 1841, when
Asbury left the town and Wesley went into the grocery
business. In 1845 William Reed came to Barnesville,
and continued business here until his death. He began
here as a shoemaker. He soon started an extensive
boot and shoe manufactory, giving' work to many hands
for many years. He then opened a shoe store, and soon
added to that the business of tobacco merchant. He
put up more dwelling' houses and business places than
any other two citizens of the town. William T. Meek
succeeded Kincade as chair-maker, and from about 1837
to 1851, with slight interruption, carried on that trade
here. David Rilev carried on a cabinet maker's busi-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 31
ness here from 1842 to 1852, when he went to California.
In 1843 Hiram Hibbard began the same business here on
lot No. 25, and continued it in connection with undertak-
ing' — which he beg"an in 1S45 — to his death. During" this
period William Stubbs, Holton and several other per-
sons as shoemakers had shops here. The only silver-
smiths here in this period were one David Allen, who
carried on that business from 1^47 to 1851, at the little
frame, which was moved to give place to the Gamen-
thaler building", and Jesse White who had a shop on lot
No. 39. From 1H41 1 to 1H50 Handel Vance carried on the
wagon- making business here.
In 183G Thomas Moore, an old factory man, and
George Dawson erected a woolen factory and ran it sev-
eral years; then sold out to Daniel Williams. He in turn
sold out to Jonathan Capstack, he to Barlow & Hogue,
in whose hands it perished as a woolen factory. It is
now the printing establishment of the Hanlon Brothers.
In 1847 Francis E. Uncles and Edia Ramsey sunk a tan-
yard at the corner of South street and Reed's row. It
was continued until about the year 1854, when it was
abandoned and the vats filled up.
The first cigar factory here, and the only one in this
period, was started in the winter of 1838-9, by Jesse
Judkins, father of Dr. J. A. Judkins, and a cigar maker
from Wheeling. It was carried on in a little frame
building that stood lengthwise the street on Calvert
Hill, on the lot now occupied by James McConnell.
Judkins furnished the capital and the Wheeling man and
his boys made the cigars. They made only the "com-
mon," now called the "stogy"" cigar — all others then
32 HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
were called Spanish. The Wheeling Common was made
of much better tobacco, so their cigars could find no
good market. The Wheeling" man slipped away, leaving
Judkins in the lurch, and the factory went down. Kel-
lion Hag'er, Jesse Judkins, Henry T. Barnes and Allen
Barnes were tobacco merchants during this period.
MERCANTILE AND OTHER LINES OF TRADE.
Col. Benjamin Mackall became a partner of his
father, with a half interest in the goods, in 1833. In
L835, at the death of his father, he became sole owner.
In L836 he sold a half interest to Thomas Shannon, and
business was continued by them at the old stand, lot No.
"22, until L840, when the Colonel retired. Shannon be-
came sole owner. Joseph Fry and one Gilliland became
partners, and the store continued until the death of
Shannon in 1843. Fry, in 1843, removed his store to
Campbell's corner, and there he ran a large business un-
til 1846, when he overreached himself in leaf tobacco
In 1837 the Davenports — John the father, Coulson
and Benjamin, the sons, having built their brick store
room on lot No. 4K — the Hilles room — withdrew from
Gibson and opened a splendid assortment of goods at
their new room. The Davenport Brothers continued
this establishment, sometimes with partners, sometimes
by themselves, until they quit business about 1865.
Dove and Taneyhill boug'ht out Bela Manahan, and add-
ing a new stock, opened a store at the Manahan room,
now Heed's corner. They soon failed, then sold back to
Manahan. In 1839, '40, '41 the brothers, William and
Frederick Lamping, carried on the mercantile business
at this place- William at the Campbell corner and Fred-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 33
cricic at the Manahan room. William dealt in leaf to-
bacco, and in 1840 suffered great loss by the burning of
the double barn of John Gibson. He lost forty thousand
pounds of tobacco without insurance.
Happer & Hodgin opened a store on lot No. 41 in
1841. They conducted it successfully until they sold to
R. E. Frasier about 1846. Frasier soon moved goods
and building to lot No. 47, where he continued until he
began his hotel. Jesse Cowg'ill was a partner of Hap-
per & Hodgin a few years, and John White, Esq., for a
year or two was a partner of R. E. Frasier. Happer &
Hodgin handled leaf tobacco in a barn on South street,
right back of their store.
Colonel Benjamin Mackall resumed business in dry
goods in 1843, and continued the same until he sold to
Henry R. Brown in 1852. Mackall's place of business
was the one that Shaffer, the baker, now owns.
In 1841 the firm of Barnes & Sons failed. John
Bradtield, then a young man, bought their goods and be-
gan his career as a merchant. During" his business life,
he carried on a large mercantile business, bought im-
mense quantities of leaf tobacco and wool. He was one
of the best business men in Eastern Ohio. He was suc-
ceeded by his sons, Messrs. T. & J. Bradfield, who are
excellent business men and conduct one of the finest es-
tablishments in the state. Mr. Bradtield died in October,
As the Campbell corner, the old Mackall store room
and the late Frasier House were the other three leading
business places during' the whole history of Barnes ville,
they will be disposed of here. After Joseph Fry the fol-
lowing firms and persons conducted business at the
Campbell corner, in the order named: — Tipton & Hare,
34 HISTORY OF BARNESVIKLE.
Menancler Mott, Isaac Hockheimer, James R. Hunt &
Brother, Chaney & Hunt, and the Campbell Brothers,
who are still there. After William Green retired from
the Prasier House, there followed Noah Calhoun, with
dry goods, and Henry F. Odell with drug's and groceries.
The house then became a hotel — about 1853, with Bela
Alexander as proprietor, then Isaac Deems, John Reed,
and John H. Piper ran the hotel in the order named.
Piper and Frasier exchanged property about the year
1858, and after that the house was run by R. E. Frasier
& Son. After Fry left the old Mackall room, business
was carried on at it by the following persons and firms
and as named: Isaac Hockheimer, Tipton & Hare (drug
store), Henry R. Brown, Thomas Chambers (groceries),
Thomas Brock, William Brown (groceries), the Shonlield
Brothers, Samuel Oppenheimer, Jacob Oppenheimer and
Victorious, all clothiers.
The first shoe store in town was opened by Nathan-
iel Vollentine in 1834, in the brick below the Stephen's
residence. To that line in 1845 he added dry goods and
groceries, and entered upon the business of tobacco mer-
chant. The collapse of that business in 1846 nearly
made him bankrupt. Having become the owner of the
Hill building, which was burnt down in the lire of 1895,
he, in 1848, gave up the business of merchant and opened
a hotel. He ran this hotel until he went west in 1854.
This hotel and the Parsons and Shankland houses were
all the public houses here during this period.
The first drug store in the town was opened by
Lewis H. Green, in 1835, at the little old brick next
south of Stephen's residence on Chestnut street. In
1836 he transferred it to the frame part of the old Shank-
Land hor.se, and the next year he removed it to St.
BISTORY OP BARNESVILLE. 35
Clairsville. The next drug store was that of Jesse and
N. Judkins, kept on lot No. 42. Dry goods were also
kept by them in connection with the drugs. This busi-
ness was started in 1842, and profitably run for several
years. The next two drug" stores were those run by Mr.
Mott and Dr. Win. H. Polger. Mott's was kept at the
old Manahan room, Heed's corner, was beg'un in 1848,
and continued for about twelve years. Dr. Folger's was
in an old frame building on the site of what is Reed &
Pisher*s saddlery store, and was begun in 1848, and was
carried on until l<s."-'>.
The grocery business was a failure here as a dis-
tinct line of trade, until L835, although William George.
Robert Claudy, John Hyatt, and several others made the
effort. But in L835 William Poole opened a grocery on
lot No. ~>4, and made it a success until his death three
years after. About 1841 William H. Gardner and Wesley
Gardner each opened a grocery. Wesley continued his un-
til his death in 1H74. Everybody remembers Wes Gardner's
grocery at the old stand on lot No. 23. William H. be-
gan his where Poole carried on, but he soon made so
much money, that he erected, in 1846, the McKeever and
Kinney buildings, (which were destroyed by fire in L895)
on lot No. 18, and soon launched out into the dry goods
business, which he successfully carried on until about
L855, when he went west. John Brown in 1843 opened a
grocery, which he continued until his death. John Kid-
wiler, Jesse Wier, E. D. Barnes and several others also
had groceries during that time.
The Disciples in 1842 erected a nice little brick
church on Calvert Hill, West South street. It would
30 HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
seat about three hundred persons. The pulpit stood be-
tween the two doors of entrance at the south end. Here,
in the winter of 1848, Bishop John Purcell, of the Catho-
lic church, preached a sermon. It was a night service
and the house was crowded. His subject was "Chris-
tian Forbearance," and he handled it only as a master
can. It was one grand array of learning, gems of attrac-
tive and elevated thoughts, with bursts of eloquence that
brought the audience to tears, and the people went away
saying that if that be Rome, then God bless Rome.
This house was torn down in 1H57. The old brick of the
Methodists and this church were the only places of wor-
ship in the town during this period.
HOUSES OF EDUCATION.
In 1838, a small frame building, called the "Female
Seminary," was erected on the lot at the southeast
corner of Chestnut and Cherry streets. At this semi-
nary several school sessions were taught, but from lack
of patronage, it was sold in 1^47 to John Francis, who
turned the same into a lumber room.
In 1839-40, the academy on East hill—lot No. 33—
was built. The first academic term therein was of four-
teen weeks length and was beg'un in December, 1842,
Merrill and Johnson, professors. It amounted to but
little as a place of learning until John I. Thompson, in
L853, became the leading professor, when it became
somewhat noted. After the death of Thompson, it de-
clined rapidly and was finally sold to Friendship Lodge
F. A. M., and was used as a lodge room by that society,
until 1890, when they erected a line building on Main
street. The old academy since then has been occupied
as a tenement house. Notwithstanding the failure of
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 6i
the academy as a place of learning", still it is the Alma
Mater of two United States District Judges, and many
others who have lived successful lives.
ACCIDENTS AND FIRES.
A boy named Sills, who worked for Daniel Williams
at his woolen factory, was killed in 1846. He got en-
tangled in the belting" of the fulling stocks and was car-
ried around the shaft several times. He died the same
In L847 the residence of Dr. William H. Folger and
the building adjoining", owned by John Delong", of Guern-
sey county, were burnt up entirely. Those houses were
on Calvert Hill, West Main street, south side.
NOTABLE AND PROFESSIONAL MEN.
William S. Taneyhill, the lirst lawyer, came to the
town in the fall of 1835. He remained here until the
spring of 1837, when he removed to Millersburg", Holmes
About the year 1835 Dr. Nicholas Judkins, having
finished his studies with his father, entered upon the
practice of his profession here and had eminent success.
In 1843 he abandoned the practice altogether.
In 1836 Dr. John Walker, a Thomsonian physician, lo-
cated at this place, residence and office on lot 6.0. At
first he had a large practice, coming to him out of the
practice of Dr. Charles Waddell, but it soon ran down
and he left the town in 1843.
Dr. Ephraim Williams located here in 1837 and began
his career. With what success he spent his life every-
In the winter of 1838-9, John Davenport, our second
;]H HISTORY OF BARNESVTLLE.
Lawyer, with his family settled here. He was a great
lawyer, and his learning" was almost boundless in variety.
In character he was honorable and plain spoken and a
polished gentleman of the "old school." With his socia-
bility and power of talk, he controlled the people as with
a charm. He died in L861, leaving" a greater mark on
Barnesville than that made by any other citizen who has
lived within her limits.
Dr. John Stotler, a physician of the Thomsonian
school, located here in 1845. He never had much prac-
tice and left the town about 1855.
Dr. John T. Mackall, who had studied with Dr.
Hoover, began the practice of his profession in 1839.
His worth as a man and his skill as a physician soon
secured lor him a lucrative business, and it so continued
while he lived. The doctor during" life was an ornament
to tin- town and a blessing to the community. He died
in 1<^7"), respected by everybody, and was succeeded by
his son, Dr. B. H. Mackall.
In this period nourished Dr. J. \Y. Warfield, who was
one of our best physicians, and noted as a kind hearted
man. He went into the army as a surgeon and died
Dr. Wm. Hare was also about this time a well known
In the winter of 1845 Dr. Isaac Parker located here
and soon had a g"ood practice. His health was never
good and that fact, added to his natural disgust for his
profession, made him abandon it in I860. He died about
In 1^41' a tall, awkward looking" boy, with larg"e
head, curly sandy hair and prominent blue eyes, became
an apprentice to John Kelley. He faithfully served out
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 39
his time, during" which lie ironed wagons and attended
the Merrill and .Johnson term at the academy. After
finishing his trade he studied law and then went to Ore-
gon, where for over forty years he was a United States
District Judge. That boy was the Hon. Matthew P.
Deady. He resided at Portland until his death, which
occurred several years ago. Mr. Deady was a judge
of rare powers, and had a breadth and diversity of
legal learning which was truly astonishing. Some of
his decisions have had results as great as ever came out
of those of any court.
Rev. .John N. Hunt was the main-stay of the Disci-
ples' Church at this place for years. He was the father
of our townsmen, Messrs. Charles, Flick and Irwin Hunt,
worthy sons of a noble father. He was a useful citizen
and by his courtly manners did much to rub off the corn-
ers of our pioneer roughness.
DR. CHARLES WADDELL AM) BISHOP ANDREWS.
In the year Is;;,") the Rev. Dr. Charles Waddell made
his advent here as a local preacher and Thompsonian
physician. As a preacher of Methodism he was an as-
tonishment. As an orator he was the equal of Whitetield,
and as a reasoner he was Websterian. When he struck
a salient point of the walls of Satan, it was with the
force and results of a spiritual earthquake. Not one
stone was left upon another. He was the great grand-
son of the "blind preacher.'" made immortal by Wirt in
the "British Spy." As a physician he made some won-
derful cures and took' the community by storm. Dr.
Waddell was a tall, wiry-built man and wore his hair
long. He never had his equal as an exhorter at Barnes-
40 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
In the same year came the Right Rev. Andrews,
bishop of the M. E. Church. It was this bishop who
"happened to hold*' a few slaves in the "rig'ht of his
wife," and who from that fact was made the means of
separation that in 1844 divided the M. E. Church into
Church North and Church South. It was in fact the en-
tering wedge to the War of the Rebellion, for, if that
church had remained a unit, it would have been a strong"
band to hold the states together.
A QUEER CHARACTER — SAMMY W T IT,T.TAMS.
A notable character of the town, and one that nour-
ished about this period, w T as Sammy Williams, a colored
man. He was an old slave and came to the town in the
year 1847, with his wife and many children, and at once
became a terror to the people of the towm. The officers
were afraid of him, but finally he was arrested and had
a trial, but as nothing w r as found ag"ainst him, he was re-
leased. After that he started forth as a preacher, but
failed at that, and for several years he lived quietly and
peacefully. Then his wife died and his children one by
one left him. Then, becoming tired of the monotony of
his life, he launched forth as a stump speaker and an
auctioneer. His speeches included the cream of the
town g'ossip and his w T ares embraced everything from a
broken crock to a wasted hand-bill. At first he attracted
much attention, but the people got tired of Sammy and
passed him without heed. The boys pelted him with
stones. It mattered little to Sammy whether any one
listened to him cr not, lie kept rig'ht on with his talk,
ending each speech with the letters W. R. N. T. When
he began his stump-speaking he said he was eighty-three
years old, and from that time to his death, when he was
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 41
asked how old he was, he would answer, 'Must eighty-
three." He grew older in spite of that, and one bitter
cold night he was frozen so badly that he died in a few
The first merry-go-round that ever visited Barnesville
came in the summer of 1835 and was planted near the
north end of lot No. 15 — its south end is where the milli-
nery store room of Mr. Hill is located. A very larg'e can-
vas tent was erected to protect the furniture of the con-
cern. They made perfectly level a x^lace on which they
put a broad thin iron platform, with a hole at its center
to receive the turning" post. The turning post was of
wood and about fifteen inches in diameter and turned
very glibly. There were four arms that projected out
from the post, at the end of which was a neat wooden
horse, saddled and bridled, and was gaily caparisoned.
The motive power was by hand, holding to pins fixed in
the arms. The horses were moved swiftly or slowly just
as the riders wished. The concern remained in town
about two weeks — making' money all the time — and went
away several hundred dollars better off than when it
THE FIRST BAND.
The first band at Barnesville was formed in L836.
William T. Meek was the leader and he is the only mem-
ber now living. In 1^44 two other bands were formed —
a Democratic band and a Whig band. The members of
these bands are all dead, except William Hager, Isaac
Shankland and R. H. Taney hill of the Whig, and Will-
iam T. Meek and Ezekiel Mills of the Democratic. Will-
42 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
iam W. Laws was the leader of the Whig", and William
T. Meek was the leader of the Democratic.
In the summer of 1834 the Siamese Twins, Chang and
Shem, gave two exhibitions of themselves in the then
brick part of the Shankland Hotel. They were neatly
built men of medium height, and were in good health and
active. They could readily leap over fences and other
obstacles and ascend stair-ways with agility. They
wore black broadcloth coat and pants, white vests, and
wore turbans for head-gear. They had darker complex-
ions than the common Chinese. Their eyes and hair
were black, their hair was worn long" and falling on the
shoulders. They were connected by a strip made up of
flesh and cartilage. They also sold a little pamphlet
giving a history of their lives, and it sold well, a~~gTeat
many copies of it were sold. They were very intelli-
gent gentlemen and well behaved. A good joke was en-
joyed by them hugely. By their appearance I should
think they were about twenty-live years old. Afterwards,
and after they had made a tour of Europe and the United
States, and having" made a fortune, they settled in the
State of North Carolina. There they married two sisters
slightly tinged with African, and each raised a g'ood
sized family. Chang died and Shem died about two
hours after, but he died by shear nervous exhaustion
brought on by Chang's sickness and death. Their de-
scendants are scattered all over the Union.
James Gibson, a wealthy merchant of Barnesville, in
1838 tried the cultivation of the sugar-beet. He planted
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 13
all of the lot on which the now residence of P. W. Hib-
bard stands, which was at that time vacant, making
about three-fourths of an acre planted in beets. The
plants grew well and large. Some nice sugar was ob-
tained from them, but Mr. Gibson g'ave up the business
after the first trial.
In the same year — 1838 — Mr. Gibson made an effort
to manufacture silk. His cocoonery was in the house
now used by the Campbell brothers as a room for their
shoe store, southeast corner of Main and Chestnut
streets. He had a good many worms and made some
g'ood silk, but it all cost mere than it returned, so Mr.
Gibson gave up the enterprise. I saw the worms and
saw them roll up the cocoons. I also saw the workmen
spin off the threads from the cocoons. The worm at
full growth is about three inches long and of a dull lead
color with a few bristles on it, and they are as big around
as a caterpillar. The moth is about two inches from
tip to tip of its wings. Mr. Gibson's effort at silk cul-
ture caused almost a craze among* our people. Mulberry
leaves had to be had and so the country far and near
was planted down in mulberry orchards and the streets
were decked with the white mulberry, so making' use
and beauty help to ornament and shade the sidewalks.
The trees on the streets have been destroyed long ago,
but some old orchards are still to be seen.
1 N T E RESTING I T E M S .
If Christmas was gay and festive, the 4th of July was
extravagantly heroic. Cannon, guns and loaded anvils
were fired, bonfires burned, liberty poles raised, decked
44 HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
with flag's, speeches made and a carousal of hurrahs rent
the air the live long day. There were then no other holi-
days kept at Barnesville.
For a great many years Pairview was in advance of
Barnesville. She had two very fine stores kept there
then, one by Mathew Scott and the other by the Rose-
mans; to these our people went to buy their finery. Our
mails were brought to us from there once a week, then
twice a week. We did not have a daily mail until 1848.
It was the upper tendom that went to Pairview, as it was
then about as grand as Wheeling' to go to. She had the
great National Road and that gave her that position.
But when the railroad was built Pairview sank to insig"-
nificance and Barnesville became to her as she had been
to Barnesville. While we were g'etting' our mail from
Pairview a change was made to Morristown, but it was
only for a short time, as it did not suit our people, so de-
livery was again had at Pairview. Pairview has held
her own remarkably well, considering the adverse cir-
cumstances with which she has had to encounter.
LAST PERIOD — FROM 1852 TO THE PRESENT.
John Francis, Wm. R. Moore, Crosier & Ward, Wm.
Cline, Crosier & Hall, Moore & Hall, Joseph Capstack,
John McDonald, J. P. Cox, James Sproat, Frank Moore,
George Hail, and John Seals have had or have black-
smith shops here during this period.
Emanuel Nace. Irwin Hunt, Thomas Bannister, Will-
iam Nace, Nace & McGaw, E. S. Sargent, John Reed,
John Scrivener, Homer Barnes, William Bowen, Mr.
Reimenschneider, W. H. Brown and others have had or
HISTOKY OF BARNESVILEE. l.~>
have shoemakers' shops here during this period.
Saddle and harness makers here during" this period,
in addition to those already mentioned, were the late
R. M. Gunning, Abe Kelley and S. S. Foreman. Those
in the town at present are Eli Moone}^, Reed & Fisher,
and T. S. Fowler & Co.
Tinners of this period were one Burgess, Eli Ken-
nard, Henley Palmar, William Janeway, George Jane-
way, Carr & Outland, Spaulding, C. M. Cole and T. J.
Carr. Those now are J. W. Doudna and Mr. Smith.
As early as L843 Jesse Ball made the venture at the
merchant tailoring business. He had poor success. The
next in order of time was David Smeaton, who had great
success. Then came the following persons and firms
in succession as named: Coulson and Benjamin Daven-
port, Hibbard & Morrow, Hibbard & Dent, Jonathan
Thornberry, Nathan Bundy, W. H. Anderson, Washing-
ton Thornberry, Frank Hunt and G. E. Hunt, the late
Mr. O'Donnell, Worthington & Winiesdoffer, Mr. Wolfe
and his son, Edward Wolfe. The firms who carry on the
business at present are Williams Brothers, Robert Hunt,
Paul Worthington, and Charles Hunt.
In 1853 William R. Moore erected a mill for the
grinding of hominy on the lot at the southwest corner of
South and Chestnut streets. He ran the mill until the
War of the Rebellion called him to the army. Mr. Moore
in is:>4 located a steam saw mill close to the place where
the grist mill of S. C. Hilles & Brother now stands. He
ran it several years and then sold it. After passing
46 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
through several hands, the mill was bought by the
Hilles Brothers, who operated it until about 1868, when
it was abandoned and the frame work incorporated with
their grist mill.
In 1855-6 Jesse White erected the now Hilles grist
mill, and after running" it a year or two sold out to the
Hilles Brothers. These gentlemen ran it together until
the death of S. C. Hilles. Since that time it has been
operated by William Hilles and his sons, under the old
firm name of S. C. Hilles & Brother.
Many years ago a tanyard was sunk just south of
the Rogers planing mill on Reed's row. It was run sev-
eral years, then became the property of William Reed,
who, with John Albrecht, ran it until 1890, when it was
consumed by fire.
A threshing" machine factory was built in 1858 by
Henry Norris, at the southeast corner of South street
and Reed's row, right where the old A. M. E. Church
stood. Mr. Norris ran this factory until his death,
about the year 1863.
The first planing" mill in the town was that of Henry
McCartney, and it occupied the east end of the old grist
mill of James Barnes and was set up about 1867. It was
was destroyed by fire with the old mill in 1870.
The next planing" mill was that of Davis & Stanton,
and was erected in 1868-9 on the north of lot No. 85. It
was run a short time, then Stanton sold out to Davis.
The Davis & Starbuck planing" mill having been erected,
the machinery was removed to it. The mill of Davis &
Starbuck was carried on successfully until it blew up
July 17, 1878. After the destruction of that mill, Charles
Kugler started a planing" mill, which he rati successfully
many years. It is at the present time operated by the
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. \7
firm of Hague & Woodward. Hague & Thomas also ran a
planing mill with their other business many years ago.
In L880 Rogers Brothers erected their planing mill a lit-
tle to the south of the Davis & Starbuck mill. To this
they attached a saw mill, and are at present operating
In 1881 Carter, Beardmore & Wisener built a large
flouring mill on lots 08-4. It was run for a year or two
by that firm, then became the propert} T of John Wisener.
It next passed into the hands of Mr. Bonnell. On the
14th of February, 1894, this mill was entirely consumed
by fire. It w T as replaced by another, the frame of which
was built by Mr. Bonnell, but was finished by W. H.
Bentley and E. E. McKeever. Mr. McKeever died in
1897, and Mr. Bentley in 1898. The mill then went into
the hands of their widows, w T ho leased it toR. G. Hog'ue,
who is running it at the present time.
The first carriage factor} 7 in towm w T as built by the
Frame Bros. & Loyd, at the southwest corner of Arch
and Church streets, in 1872. In 187G it was connected
with the coffin manufactory. The next was that of
Charles Little in 1876. He carried on his business in the
old building of the Frame Brothers, until the summer of
1896, when the building" w T as destroyed by fire. Mr. Lit-
tle erected a new building" soon after this on Chestnut
street, and is still in the business.
In 1862 Joseph Watt started a foundry on a very
small scale, but it gradually grew into the extensive one
of J. H. Watt & Co. In 1868 Lewis, McKeown & Crozier
started a foundry at the southeast corner of South street
and Broadway, in the old hominy mill of W. R. Moore.
48 HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
This foundry was transferred to a new shop on lot No.
86. After changing hands several times, it became the
property of Allen Alexander, who ran it some time
longer and then he sold out to J. H. Watt & Bros., so
this foundry became extinct. The Watt foundry was
situated on Church street on the lots now occupied by
the opera house of Eli Moore, and underwent many ad-
ditions to size as the trade increased. The company
began the manufacture of a patent self-oiling' car wheel,
which necessitated the enlargement of the concern. So.
in the years 1890-91, a large manufactory was erected in
the northeast part of the town, and the company incor-
porated under the name of The Watt Mining Car Wheel
The Buckeye Novelty Works, situated on Laws ave-
nue was established in 1890, and incorporated in 1891.
All kinds of sign printing is done by this company.
In 1891 Amos Barlow T and his son William became
the owners of the once Frame Brothers old establish-
ment, en a lot just back of Reed's Row, and at once
fitted it up for the manufacture of berry boxes and peach
baskets. It is still run by the same firm — Barlow &
The box factory of Elmer Hutchinson was started
by Tobe Heizer. It was next operated by James Renner,
then by the late Vinton Shiple}^, who ran it about a
month. On March 1, 1892, it went into the hands of the
Talbott brothers and H. Campbell, and finally, on Jan-
uary 1. L895, into the possession of Mr. Hutchinson, who
continues the business. Mr. Hutchinson was also a
partner with the Talbott Brothers.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. I'.l
In 1893 a canning' factory was built in Barnesville,
on South Chestnut street. At the first tomatoes were
the only article put up. At present the factory puts out
on the market all kinds of fruit-butters, ketchup, baked
beans, mustard, and canned goods.
In the summer of l s< .'7, the old woolen factory which
was for many years owned and run by George Atkinson,
was purchased by a company of our business men and
incorporated under the name of The Bush Hosiery Manu-
factory. New machinery was put in and operations at
once beyan. The company employs a lar^e number of
The laundry business in Barnesville was first started
by one Harper, a young colored man. Rey Jeffrey ran
a laundry in a building" back of his residence on South
Broadway. The next was run by one Dickison in a
building" on Church street. The place of business was
finally located in the old building' that formerly had been
the old church tabernacle, and which had been moved to
a lot back of South Brcadw T ay The business then
passed into the control of Amos Albert, who ran it suc-
cessfully for a time, then sold out to the Heizer Broth-
ers, who had it for a year or so, then it went back into A I
bert's hands. E. F. Doudna became the next proprietor
of the concern, and he ran it until April, L897. when the
business passed into the possession of the present
owners, the Futhey Brothers, who conducted the same
at the old plant until the summer of L898, when they
erected a brick' building on South Chestnut street, and
moved the business to the new establishment.
The Chinese laundry has also nourished in this
50 HISTORY OP BARNESVILLE.
period of the town's history, the iirst one being 1 run here
some ten or twelve years ago. Then after some time
came Jim Long", who conducted that business here for
two or three years. The present Chinese laundryman is
The persons and firms that have had furniture stores
here during this period were, Hiram Hibbard, who was
the Iirst, Frank Hibbard, Harvey Colvig, O. Hunt, Loper
& Colvig", Loper & Son, and Captain Shepherd. Hiram
Hibbard ran the undertaking business in connection with
his furniture. The present furniture firms are F. W.
Hibbard, Harvey Colvig", and Emerson & Osier. These
firms all run the undertaking" along with the other busi-
The leather business was begun here in 1859 by
Nathan Patterson on lot No. 11. Patterson ran the busi-
ness at great profit until 1<70, when he £.old out to
Buchanan & Moore. The business next passed into the
hands of Mr. Mocre, who ran it very successfully until
a few years ago, when he sold out.
The first shoe store of this period was that of How-
ard & Rowles in 1856. Then in order came the following
persons and firms: William Reed, William Sawhill, Mc-
Ginuis & Sharp, T. A. Gratigny, Gratigny & Evans, one
Madden, Mahlon T. Fawcett, Robert Happer, James
Maring, Thomas Bannister, Gratigny & Judkins, J. A.
Moore, Campbell Bros., Hobbs & Cassells, Miller &
Cassells, and the late Jacob Heed. The persons and
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 3J
firms engaged in the business at present are .J. W. Jud-
kins, McVey & Cassells, Hobbs & Warrick, and the
The tirst distinct wholesale grocery here was started
by David McCartney in the year 1854, in the old brick
ware house now used by the Rogers Bros, in connection
with their planing mill. He ran this .yrocery until the
War of the Rebellion. The next was started in lsbs, by
John Davis and H. Vance, at the southwest corner of
Arch and Main streets. Vance sold out his interest to
Francis Davis, and the goods moved to lot No. 47, and
continued there under the name of F. Davis & Co. In
1870 J. M. Lewis & Co. succeeded and finally Mr. Lewis
became sole owner. He ran it several years, but a de-
pression of trade coming on he went out of the business.
At present there is no wholesale grocery in the town.
The principal silversmiths here in this period have
been Robinson McLane, Burton, Rudolph Gamenthaler,
John Stephens, Jr., B. Q. Quest, James Wells, and El-
mer McKeever. The persons engag'ed in that business
at the present time are Rudolph Gamenthaler and E. B.
Stevenson. Mr. Stevenson was for a long time a part-
ner with E. E. McKeever, when the business was run un-
der the name of McKeever & Stevenson.
This business since L8i>2 has been carried on by Jona-
than Evans, Thomas Colpitts, Richard Cunard, Wall
Evans, C, & J. Chase and the Colpitt Brothers. The
only works of this kind in the town at the present is
.)_ HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
thai of Colpitis & Boswell, on South Chestnut street.
The principal artists of this class have been (1. M.
Aduddell, Handel Vance, William H. Barnes, raid Stew-
art. The present photographers are W. H. Baker and
The first hardware store in the town was started in
the year L865, by James Jetfery, a Canadian, in the old
John Sunderland store room, where Irwin Hunt now lias
his shoe shop. He removed to the room now occupied
by the Rog'ers Brothers, en lot No. 52. He sold to
Charles Lloyd, and he to T. & A. Rogers, who still con-
tinue the business. The next effort at hardware was
that by the firm of Wiley & Wright, in the Ely block,
about 1870. They sold to John McCollin. When he quit
the business, the stcck was sold to John McKeever & Son,
who were succeeded by the present firm of I. D. & C. H.
McKeever. The present stores of this kind are the two
above named and that of J. W. Doudna.
DRY coon;- MERCHANTS.
Tlie dry goods merchants of this period have been
as follows: Horkheimer &. Eisman, Joseph Eisman, Sun-
derland S: Hogue, Eisman iV: Fred, Hager & Bentz, Henry
R. Brown, .1. W. Prasier & Son, H. P. Odell, L. L. Fred,
Hanlon & Hogue, S. B. & \l. H. Piper, Simon Hork-
heimer, Patrick Lochary, Bailey & Barnes, J. R. Hunt &
Bros., William A. Talbott, William Asbury, Win. H. De-
ment, Taylor, Creighton, Wilson & Co., Brown & Mc-
Keever, Mead, Hogue & Co., K. H. Piper, John Wisener,
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. r»3
T. T. Hanlon, McKeever & Son, Judkins & Talbott, Gus
& Charles Talbott, Washington Thornberry, Chaney &
Hunt, G. E. Hunt & Co., David Shepherd, Geo. E. Hunt,
John Bradfield, Julia Judkins, Samuel Nace & Son. The
present firms in that business are T. & J. Bradtield, J. S.
Harrison, who succeeded Samuel Nace & Son., and G.
E. Hunt. R. H. Piper carries on a retail notion store in
his building at the corner of Main and Arch streets.
The drug stores of this period were conducted by
the following persons and firms: In 1854 Dr. James War-
field bought out Henry P. Odell. Then Warfield sold to
Dr. Carolus Judkins in 1856, who continued the busi-
ness to his death. William T. Harlan then took charge
of the business in the name of Harlan & Judkins, and he
ran it for about ten years. At the end of the time the
drugs passed to Thomas Judkins and then the goods
were sold to Dr. G. S. Wellons and E. V. Shipley, who
ran it for a few months, then they sold out to R. M. Gun-
ning, who sold to Dr. A. Pullin, who ran the business un-
til he left Barnesville. Dr. Wellons was for a long
time in the drug store of Mr. Warfield, but was suc-
ceeded by Mr. Eaton. He gave his attention to the
practice of medicine until the year 1887, when he opened
out a line of drugs in the Adams building" on Main street.
He removed from there to his own room across the
street, and continued the business until 1894, when he
sold out entirely to I. R. Lane. Mr. Lane continued the
trade at the old stand until January, 1895, when the en-
tire stock was destroyed by fire. Peter Giffen had re-
cently started a drug store here, and he and Mr. Lane
had formed a partnership some time before the tire, but
t)4 [IISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
had not yet moved their stock together. They then
conducted the business in the room occupied by Mr.
Gilfen, and continued it under the name of Giffen &
Lane, when in a short time Lane sold out his share to Mr.
Hornbrook, and the business continued under the name
of Giffen & Hornbrook, until the present firm took pos-
session. Mr. Giffen along with the drug" business carried
on the manufacture of a tine grade of baking powder,
which found a ready market. In the spring of L896 Dr.
Wellons erected a new building" on the site of the one
that was destroyed in the fire of L895, and opened out a
new drug store, which he is at present running.
After the old stock of drugs had passed to Thomas
Judkins from Harlan, Harlan opened a new store at the
old stand on lot 48, and is now owned b}^ Geo. E. Hilles.
Mr. Warfield in 1858 opened another drug store, and
shortly after Robert Hodgin became his partner. They
sold out to Odell & Ball, who in turn sold to Ely &
Plumly. When Plumly retired, Ely went to the corner
where he now is. Dr. G. W. Githens opened a drug store
here, and James Ferguson soon became his partner.
They sold to Hoover, Williams & Eaton. Dr. Hoover
sold his share to Dr. J. A. Judkins, when the firm be-
came that of Williams, Eaton & Judkins. This firm sold
out to Plumly & Ellison. Ellison sold his share to
Plumly, and Plumly at the end of ten years sold out and
retired from business. About the year 1*7:2, H. Griffin
opened a drug store on Chestnut street, with Hamilton
Eaton as its director, and in a short time Eaton bought
Griffin's share, and continued the business until 1878,
when he sold out the entire stock. A drug store was
started by Frank Lyles on Arch street about the year
1865, and ran a year or two, when he sold out. The
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. o;i
1lrms that carry on the business at present arc G. E.
Hilles, J. S. Ely & Co., Dr. G. S. Wellons, and Hornbrook,
Son & ( !o.
( II IX A STORES.
.lame; T. Moore carried on an extensive store of this
kind since 1883, until the spring" of 1898, when he closed
out the stock, enlarged his place of business and opened
out a large department store. Charles Cole after quit-
ing the tinner's trade, opened a china store on Central
Alain street, which he ran quite a number of years, then
quit the business.
The leading grocers who did a retail business here
during this period have been the Burroug'h Brothers,
Lemoyne Mott, James Thompson, Handel Vance, Vance
& Son, John W. Sunderland, William Brown, W. H. Kin-
ney. James T. Moore, C. P. Dobbins, Thomas Goldsmith,
Thomas Frasier, John W. Hingeley, E. T. Parker, David
Sheldon, M. T. Fawcett, Jacob Heed, W. H. Hobbs. and
several others. Those at the present time are T. J.
Carr, Matthew McKeown, Fowler & Son, William Hil-
ton, Leonard Hilton, J. W. Mackall, John Adams, W. H.
Kinney, S. Pack, Dora Blakemore, U. Damsel & Son,
E. C. Kinney. J. E. Gibson. Warrick Bros., Mr. Patter-
son, S. Denoon, and F. Outland.
TOBAi '( K ) MERCHANTS.
Besides those already named the following persons
and firms have handled leaf tobacco during this period:
John Hance, J. R. Hunt & Bro., L. L. Fred ; Henry T.
Barnes, Reed & Gardner, Howard & Green. Bailev &
r ' HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
Barnes, Gardner & Parker, Gardner & Fordyce, Benjamin
Bailey, J. S. & A. B. Howard, and others. The present
tobacco merchants are Thomas Bradiield, Howard &
Reel Howard & Miller, Reed & Reed.
The clothing" stores of this period have been Jacob
Oppenheimer, Victorious, Rottenberg", Max Reinheimer,
Isaac Andcrn, and others. The firms now are Williams
Bros., J. J. Kirk. Paul Worthington, and R. L. Hunt.
The principal underwriters of this period have been
William Smith, Esq., Jonathan Scofielcl, Dr. Kemp, H.
M. Hickock, Norris & Norris, Norris & Barnes, and I. H.
Powers. William Smith lived here from about 1845 to
L875, and was one of our most public spirited citizens.
He commenced the culture of strawberries here, which
has made Barnesville famous wherever the berries have
been sold. During his life time Mr. Smith was promi-
nent in all our local affairs. The principal underwriters
at present are S. B. Piper, Jonathan Scofield, and Mr.
The cig"ar shops were carried on by the following
persons: Thaddeus Marsh started one in 1854, in the
room now used by Shaffer for his bakery. He sold to
Isaac Horkheimer and he to Joseph Eiseman; each of
these persons ran a shop for a short time. Then came
Samuel Nace, John West, George Callens, Fred Kies,
Levi Eisenberg, Uriah Damsel, Joseph Dubois, Thomas
Carr, William H. Kinney, Nan Reed, Charlie Batch.
HISTORY OP BARNESVILLE. .u
Jacob Heed. Abel Hobbs, the Graham Brothers, the
Heed Bros., Charley Carr, Al Heed, Gratigny & Lyles,
and others. The firms engaged in the business at present
are the Bulger Bros., proprietors of The Big Four fac-
tory, Heed Bros, The Ohio, run by J. E. Ward. A. C.
Damsel. W. H. Barlow, Charles Hunt, and J. R. Carr.
The name of Moses Brown is well remembered by
our older citizens. When he was asked what occupa-
tion he followed, he would reply, "My wife is a milli-
ner!*' He is said to have been the most stingy man that
was even in the town. On one occasion, in the presence
of a friend, he threw two "nubbins" into the pigpen,
and exclaimed, "Now stuff yourselves!" Mrs. Brown
was followed by Mrs. "Rebecca Hare, then came Miss
Mattie Lowe, Miss Sade Leeke, Mrs. Annie Bailey, Nace
& Pickering, A. F. Maltby, Mrs. J. E. Ritchie, W. A.
Talbott. John Hill, Mrs. M. L. Barnes, Miss Ao-nes Du-
bois, Mrs. Anna Sproat, and the Bee Hive, kept by a
Mr. Haun. The milliner stores at present are John Hill,
J. T. Moore, and G. E. Hunt.
Another important industry of the town is the
Barnesville Creamery. This business was started by
the farmers of the vicinity, in August 1895. The place
of business is situated on Mulberry street, and all the
management of the concern is in the hands of A. L.
Fankhauser. Connected with the creamery is one of
the most remarkable wells in the town. It is a drilled
well of a depth of a little over fifty feet, and all through
the very dry seasons of 1895 6, when nearly every water
;>.i HISTORY OP BARNESVIELE.
supply in town had failed, or given a sign of failing*,
this well continued to give all the immense amount of
water required daily for the washing" of the butter, be-
sides supplying water every evening for a large tank
connected with the creamery.
The hotels of this period in addition to those already
mentioned, are as follows: the old "Bloomer'* on Arch
street, built by Handel Vance about 1860, and run by
him and others for many years. It was afterwards the
residence of Joseph Renner, but is now occupied as a sa-
loon by Bartley Mc Andrews. The "Henderson House,"
at the northeast corner of Main and Arch streets, is now
the store room of R. H. Piper. The "Dement House" is
now the McKeown block on Chestnut street. The St.
John, also on Chestnut, was built in 1^7'2, by one Black,
who kept it a few years, then sold to Michael Creighton,
Sr., who enlarged it. Then Martin St. John conducted
it as a hotel for three or four years. Then one Slevin,
Williams, Dowdell, Williams (a lady), Miss A. Folger
successively conducted this hotel. It finally passed into
the hands of Jack Heed, who ran it successfully several
years. Al Heed then tcck possession and ran the hotel
until the past summer of 1898, when it was abandoned as
a public house.
In 1H0H-9 the brothers, William and Ezekiel Mills
erected the two-story part of the now Albert House, but
before that part was finished, by exchange with Marx
Albert, the old Parsons hotel with the part just men-
tioned, became the property of Albert. He soon finished
the building and ran the hotel until his death. It then
passed into the hands of his children who have conducted
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 59
the hotel ever since. The St. Charles hotel is now oc-
cupied by Luther Stewart as a saloon, and is situated on
Arch street. It was built by John Wisener for a busi-
ness room, and was first run as a hotel by Wm. Williams.
Moses Edgar ran a hotel for a number of years in the
building on Mulberry street, just opposite the depot,
Mr. Stone also ran this hotel some time, but in a
year or two took possession cf the hotel on Arch
street, which he is still running'. The hotels of the pres-
ent time are the Albert House, the Central Hotel, and
the Stone House.
In 1857 Anthony Mabra kept a shop over Folger's
drug store. He was an amusing colored man, and his
rasping shave by the dim light of a single candle, can
vividly be remembered. Kin Brown had a shop here.
Before and during the war, Frank Fowdes, a colored gen-
tlemen kept a shop in the basement of Vance's Bloomer
House, the old Renner building on Arch street. He was
very deliberate in his operations, but yet accumulated
some money. At the breaking of the Confederate lines
at Petersburg, "a likely boy," the protege and servant
of Colonel Johnson, of A. P. Hill's corps, was captured.
He had attended his master on all the campaigns from
Yorktown to Petersburg, and was taken prisoner while
on duty. He was sent west and landed at Barnesville.
He became a pupil of Fowdes. This boy was Mr. John-
son, who was for many years one of the best barbers in
the town. He has been succeeded by his son. Ph. i lip
Johnson, who, in partnership with Mr. Ellis, runs a shop
on Main street, under the name of Johnson & Ellis.
Joseph Wilson, another of our colored barbers, had the
60 HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
honor many years ago of being" elected township trustee.
Thomas Miller, John Shiveley, Stonebraker & Son, Wm.
Mankin, Wm. Peterson, John McCourtney, and Wm. Lu-
ellen are the persons and firms eng"ag"ed in the business
FIRES AND ACCIDENTS.
In 1864 the M. E. parsonage and Wm. R. Moore's
dwelling' and shop were burnt down. These building's
stood at the southwest corner of South and Chestnut
streets. The parsonage stood south of the Moore build-
In 1866 Wesley Browm, a hand at the Frasier House,
and a son of Wm. McKendree Browm, was thrown from a
horse and died in an hour or two.
In May, 1870, the old Barnes mill was destroyed by
tire, and in March, 1871, a two-story building owned by
John Stencil, w T as burnt down. It stood on the north
end of lot No. H5 Chestnut street. In the summer of
1872 the flouring mill of Kitkee & Schultz, which stood
at the southeast corner of South and Chestnut streets,
was consumed by lire, and Benjamin Middleton, an em-
ploye, perished with the mill.
On the 4th of July, 1876, Joseph Wilkie, a young
man, and a son of Uriah Wilkie, was instantly killed by
an improvised cannon, thoughtlessly loaded to be fired
on Main street to do honor to the glorious Independence
On the 17th day of July, 1878, the large planing mill
of Davis & Starbuck, was blown to atoms by the explo-
sion of a boiler. It was one of the most terrific explo-
sions that ever occurred anywhere. Three men were in-
stantly killed — I. H. Burehard, Charles Etzler, Sr., and
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. lil
James Padgett. William Heizer was mortally wounded
and Lived but a short time.
In the month of Febn ary, 1879, James Johnson, an
employe of Hague & Co., on Arch street, became entan-
gled in the belting" of the turning lathe, was carried
around the shaft and so badlj hurt that lie died in a few
On the 14th of February, 1894, the mill owned by
Mr. Bonriell, on the corner of Main and Gardner streets,
was entirely destroyed by fire. This mill was the one
built by Carter, Beardmore & Wisener.
On the nig'ht of January L2, L895, one of the most
disastrous tires that ever happened in the town, occurred,
in which nearly a complete block of business houses on
Main street was consumed. The origin of the fire is un-
known, but was supposed to have originated in the Gun-
ning" building. The night was bitter cold, and on this ac-
count and the lateness of the hour, few people were about,
and the lire had got pretty good headway before it was
discovered, and before it could be g"ot under control, the
following" buildings were entirely destroyed: J. W. Jud-
kin's store room; the R. M. Gunning building, which was
occupied in the upper story by the Enterprise office,
the ground floor by Mr. Gunning's saddlery store, and
Mr. AYard's cheap notion store; the building occupied by
Patterson's grocery; Elmer McKeever's jewelry store:
the next was Dr. G. S. Wellon's drug store building:
then Kinney & Taylor's grocery store: the residence and
milliner store of John Hill, and Mrs. Meyer's residence.
The entire block has since been rebuilt, the old buildings
being replaced by some very handsome business struct-
In the summer of L896, the city hall building, the
[IISTORY OF BARNESVIELE
carriage factory of Charles Little, a building owned by
Joseph Hinton, on Arch street, and the residence of Mrs.
Joanna Branmim, on Church street, were entirely con-
sumed by fire.
The meat markets in the town at the present time
are kept by Scott Barnes, French Gibson, Jack Heed,
Mr. Dallas, George Patterson. R. C. Hayes, and the
The bakeries in Barnesville at present are those of
Fred Mantz, Anthony Shaffer, the Hunkler Bros., Mrs.
M. L. Barnes, and Mrs. Nelia Renner.
PROFESSIONAL M EN.
Physicians. — Besides the physicians already named,
the following have practiced medicine here in this
period: Dr. Joshua Way, Dr. E. Williams, Dr. G. S. Wel-
Lons, Dr. J. A. Judkins, Dr. Ezra Beard, Dr. Thomas,
Dr. Holmes, Dr. McCalvin, Dr. Kemp, Dr. B. Mackall,
Dr. Trimmer, Dr. Ely, Dr. O'Brien, Dr. J. W. W T ellons,
Dr. Crawford, and others. The present physicians are
Dr. J. A. Judkins, Dr. G. S. Wellons, Dr. Ely, Dr. Will
Judkins, Dr. Jas. Wellons, Dr. Fred Peregoy, Dr. Laws,
and Dr. Sheppard.
Dentists. The dentists of this period have been
Milton Barnes, atone time Secretary of State, Dr. Mofrit.
Dr. Baker, Dr. Henry Barnes, Dr. John Barnes, Dr. G.
V. Riddile, Dr. Walton. Drs. Coburn & Ferguson, and
HISTORY OP BARNESVILLE. 63
Dr. Moore. The dentists at present are Dr. Cobnrn, Dr.
Riddile and Dr. Baker.
Lawyers. -The lawyers have been R. H. Taneyhill,
J. H. (oil ins. M. D. King", N. J. Manning-, Hezekiah
Thomas. William Smith, Rudolph Rowans, Daniel
Crawford, one Brown, Bernard St. Clair, J. W. Wal-
ton, Nathan Barber, A. J. Buchanan, S. L. James,
E. T. Petty. W. F. Smith, Thomas Emerson, J. A. Shep-
herd, C. J. Howard, and W. R. Talbott. The lawyers
at the present time are Petty & Crew, Georg'e Colpitts,
and C. J. Howard.
The tirst postoffice in Barnesville was established
in L810 and William Philpot was appointed postmaster.
Mr. Philpot acted as postmaster for twenty years when
lie resigned, and in 1830 Benjamin H. Mackall w T as ap-
pointed. In 1835 Mr. Mackall died, and his son, Colonel
B. Mackall succeeded him. In 1845 Colonel Mackall
was elected to the Ohio Senate, and resigned the post-
mastership, being succeeded by Joseph Pry. Mr. Fry
was removed in 1849 and James R. Law T s appointed to
the place. In 1851 he resigned and Edw T ard D. Barnes
was appointed, in 1853 Mr. Barnes resigned and Colo-
nel B. Mackall was again appointed postmaster, which
he held until 1861, when he was removed and John H.
Piper appointed in his place. In 1866 Mr. Piper was
succeed by John W. Hays, who held the office until 1871.
He was succeeded by J. M. Lewis, who was postmaster
four years. Mr. Lewis did not conduct the affairs of the
office but appointed deputies instead, the first being
Benjamin Davenport, who served one year; then Samuel
Piper was appointed, and he served as deputy under Mr.
G-J EIISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
Lewis until 1875, wliui Mr. Lewis resigned and Air. Pi-
per received the appointment, and was postmaster
until the year L836, when he resigned the office and
J. W. Hirgeley received the appointment in 1867. In
1891 W. H. Anderson was appointed, and was followed
by Hamilton Eaton in 1895, who is the present postmas-
ter. Mr. Philpot held the office for twenty years, Colo-
nel B. Mackall for eighteen years, and Samuel Piper
over eleven years. The Mackall family and its branches
have held the postoffice for over one-fourth of the time
since 1832, and all have made capital postmasters. We
have always had most excellent postoffice keepers.
During the years of 1856-7, there was a little paper
published in the town by the young lady students of
Davenport & Adler's "Classical Institute," which was
held in the old academy building. It was called "The
Gleaner," was published weekly, and was printed at
Zanesville, Ohio. The editress was changed every term.
The name was finally changed to "The Literary Casket"
and Miss M. L. Talbott, now Mrs. M. L. Walton, was
made permanent editress. The editorials of this paper
were of a high class.
The first newspaper published in the town was by
l'artleson& Son in L857. It was called the Intelligencer.
After publishing two numbers, they sold to George Mc-
Clelland. He ran it four years, when, for lack of sup-
port, it was abandoned. In lKHiMr. McClelland started
the Enterprise, and he ran the paper very successfully
until his death, when the paper was sold to E. P. Lee,
who, with the able assistance of his wife, has con-
ducted the paper in such a manner that it has retained
EIISTORY OF BARNESVILEE. (')."
all of its old-time popularity. Some time about the year
Mr. McClelland began the publication of The "Sat-
urday News, along with the Enterprise. He ran this pa-
per several years, when it was abandoned.
In 1883 the Republican news);,-; per was started in
Barnesville, by T. T. Hanlon & Sons. This paper was
the first published in the town that was of a decided po-
litical nature, and it became at once a success. W.
V\ T . Hanlon was the editor, and conducted the paper sue-
fully, until the year L897, when it was sold to ('. C.
Carrol!, of St. Clairsville, a man who has had quite a
gocd deal of experience in journalism, and is also a
prominent political worker. He is ably assisted in the
publication of the Republican by Mr. Harry Dement.
In 1 s^'Jl? Emmet Buchanan started a job printing
office in the McKeever block. Notwithstanding the fact
that there were already two full-fledged newspapers in
the town, Mr. Buchanan made the venture on the third,
and taking W. T. Evans in as a partner, the Whetstone
was started in 1894, and under the able management of
these gentlemen the paper has become one of the best
edited newspapers to be found anywhere.
HANLON BROS. PAPER CO.
The largest printing establishment in the town is
that of Hanlon Bros. Paper Co. This business was first
started by T. T. Hanlon, then the firm was changed to
T. T. Hanlon & Sons, who ran it for several years, when
Mr. Hanlon retired, and the business passed into the
hands of his sons, Messrs. W. VY. and 0. O. Hanlon.
During the past summer of 1898 the place of business
was changed from the old location on Chestnut street to
tin- old woolen factory building on Church street, which
CO HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
had been repaired and enlarged and fitted out with all
the modern improvements for such an establishment.
CHURCHES. — THE METHODISTS.
At the beginning" of this period the membership of
the Methodist Church had outgrown the little old brick,
and a larger place of worship was found necessary. Ac-
cordingly a site was purchased on the corner of Chestnut
and Church streets, and on it in 1856 a commodious brick
structure was erected. The building was two-story, the
first story was composed of a large lecture room, and a
vestibule with two small class rooms on either side. Two
stairways on opposite sides of the vestibule led to the
upper story, which was occupied by an audience room,
a gallery and a vestibule. There were many revivals of
religious feeling in this church. During the time that
Rev. J. L. Binkley was pastor of the church, the mem-
bership was increased to such an extent that a much
larger place of worship had become a necessity, and
there was much talk on the subject, but it was not until
Dr. C. E. Manchester became pastor that anything defi-
nite, was done towards the building of a new church.
The project was then pushed rapidl}' forward, and the re-
sult was that the Methodists in Barnesville now have one
of the most beautiful and convenient church edifices to be
found anywhere. It was desired to erect the new church
on the old site on the corner of Chestnut and Church
streets, but the lot was too small and no more ground
adjoining could be bought. So the official board, hav-
ing 1 a very liberal offer for the lot. concluded to sell, and
give possession May 1, 1889. The new location se-
lected was the corner of Church and Broadway. After
giving possession of the ground sold, a temporary struc-
EIISTOUY OF BARNESVILLE. Ii7
lure was erected on Church street. This was called the
Tabernacle, and here for one whole year the congrega-
tion worshiped. In the meantime the new building was
being pushed to completion. The plan for the new
church was made by R. 8. Bagley, of Cleveland, Ohio.
The building contract was let to the late Christopher
Murray, of Bellaire, and Mr. Bumgardner, of St. Clairs-
ville. The total cost when completed was $25,955. The
house was dedicated September, 28th, L890, and Bishop
.1. W. Joyce officiated. The day was all that could have
been desired, and an immense congregation gathered to
witness the ceremonies. The choir sang as an opening
piece, "The Heavens Are Telling," a selection from Hay-
den's "Creation". Miss Grace Kelley (now Mrs. Wood
Pickering, of Columbus), was organist. The members of
the choir were Miss Gail Hibbard (Mrs. J. Harry Lewis.
of Chicago), Miss Ella Plumly, Mrs. Will Lyles, Mrs.
Lee Cunnard, Miss Carrie Baker (Mrs. Myron Cole, of
Martin's Ferry), Mrs. W. W. Hanlon, Miss Ida Patterson.
J. S. Howard, J. W. Hingeley, Myron E. Cole, J. L.
Heizer, and A. R. Heizer.- Dr. Manchester read the L36th
hymn, and after singing it, Bishop J. M. Thoburn, of In-
dia, led in prayer. Drs. J. R. Mills and Ezra Hingeley
read selections from the scriptures and hymn Mil' was
sung. The sermon by Bishop Joyce then followed
from the text "Every one that loveth is born of God and
knoweth God." The sermon tilled the highest expecta-
tions of the audience. In the afternoon Bishop Thoburn
preached. After this, subscription to meet the balance
of the debt on the building was continued, and soon the
whole amount of about $7,000 was raised. Then the
house was solemnly dedicated to the worship of Al-
mighty God, and another signal victory was inscribed
(S HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
on the banner of Methodism in Barnesville. Rev. J. A.
Hiatt is the present pastor.
The iirst Sunday school opened in Barnesville was
in the year 1827, and was held in the Archibald Cole
school room, which occupied the lot on which is the resi-
dence of Miss Celia Boyd. The books and lessons were
the same as the "every-day" schools. This school was
run a few months and then abandoned, on account of the
disorderly conduct. The next Sunday school was or-
ganized in 1828, and was established by a Rev. Alexan-
der, a Presbyterian clergyman, whose business it was to
organize such schools. It was held at the M. E. Church,
but was non-sectarian. Hon. John Davenport was the
first superintendent. From the organization of the
school to the year 1835, it was under the patronag'e of
the American Sunday School Union, but after that date
it was brought under the control of the M. E. Sunday
School Union. The most prosperous time in the early
history of the M. E. Sunday School was when Benjamin
Davenport was superintendent — in L837. He inaugurated
many new ideas into the workings of the school, such as
free distribution of Sunday School papers, "treats,'* en-
tertainments, etc., and by this means the membership
was more than doubled and a permanent interest in the
school was established, which has continued without in-
terruption to the present. The membership at the pres-
ent time is upwards of five hundred persons, and is
divided into the infant school and that of the older
members. Miss Euphemia Crawford is the superintend-
ent of the infant department, and she has served in the
capacity as teacher of the infant school for twenty-seven
years. She is very ably assisted in her work by Miss
Adda Fowler. Mr. Thomas Rogers is the general su-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 69
perintendent, and has under his charge an excellent
corps of teachers.
Up to the year L840 there were but few Presbyterians
in or about Barnesville, the only residents in the town
being James McLeish and wife. But as time passed
others moved in, and by the year L858, there was quite
a number of families of that creed in the town and
many others who leaned towards that faith. So, in the
autumn of that year, Rev. John Hammer, of Baltimore,
Md., made a religious visit to Barnesville. He held ser-
vices here for about tw T o w T eeks, preaching in the base-
ment of the M. E. Church and Warfield's Hall. Rev.
Hammer advised the Presbyterian friends to form a so-
ciety and build a meeting house. A committee was ap-
pointed to attend to the arrangements, and at its first
meeting it was resolved that if sixteen hundred dollars
could be obtained by subscription, they w T ould at once
make arrangements to build the church. In one day the
whole amount was subscribed, and in a short time the
lot, which was then occupied by the old tobacco packing
house of James Barnes & Sons was purchased of Henry
T. Barnes and the building of the new church was be-
gun. The contractor was James Elerick. The church
was completed and dedicated in the spring of L859.
About twelve years ago the building was completely
remodeled. New seats were put in, and the old win-
dows were replaced by very handsome stained glass. A
new bell was also purchased, and is one of the deepest
sounding bells cast. Rev. Allan Krichbaum is the pas-
The first Sunday school connected with the Presby-
70 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
terian Church was established in 1861, by William Saw-
hill, a lay member. At the beginning" the school had a
membership of twenty-five, and Mr. Sawhill was the su-
perintendent. The membership has steadily increased,
and now numbers between two hundred and fifty and
two hundred and seventy-five members. The superin-
tendent is Hon. C. J. Howard.
The Disciples of this vicinity were organized into a
society at the house of John Phillips, two miles north-
east of Barnesville, about the year 1833. The meetings
were held at Mr. Phillips' for several years, when they
were transferred to the old stone school house, half a
mile southwest of the Phillips residence. Here they
continued to worship until the year 1842. In that year
the Disciples held a meeting in Barnesville. They
erected a large tent on a vacant lot on West Main street,
just east of the present residence of Mrs. Barze. This
tent held about five hundred persons. The meetings
were held one week and were very interesting, and a
large number was added to the membership of the
church. In the same year, James Barnes, the proprietor
of the town, presented the Disciples with a lot at [he
west end of South street, north side, and here they
erected the little brick church mentioned, in the preced-
ing period. Here they continued to worship until 1857,
when they bought the old Methodist church on Church
street, which had recently been vacated by the Metho-
dists. They refitted it and occupied it as a place of wor-
ship, until the past summer of 1898, when more ground
was purchased for a new church; on February 28 from
John Hunt, and on May 1 from J. D. Talbott, and the
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 71
work of tearing down the old brick was at once begun.
This old church which had been the scene of the conver-
sion of many souls to God, and whose walls had re-
sounded with the eloquence of many a noted divine,
has given up its place to the handsome new build-
ing which is in the course of erection. The congrega-
tion is occupying- the old Republican office hall, on
Chestnut street, until the completion of the new church.
Rev. Grant E. Pike is pastor.
The first Sunday school in connection with the Disci-
ples Church was organized by Elder Martin about the
year 1854, and was afterwards continued by Elder I. N.
Hunt. The average attendance at present is between
eighty and one hundred members. Miss Kate Kemp is
THE FRIENDS' MEETING HOUSE.
Previous to the year 1^74 the Friends who resided in
Barnesville attended Stillwa.ter meeting one and a quar-
ter miles east of town, but in that year a meeting for
worship was allowed by the Stillwater monthly meet-
ing to about twenty families then resident in the town.
And in the spring of 1875 they erected a small two-ston"
frame on the corner of South street and Lincoln avenue.
Here meetings are held every Sunday and Thursday
mornings. For a long time after the erection of this
building a select school was held in it, but that has been
abandoned a good many years. The attendance at this
meeting house has decreased very much in the past few
years on account of many families moving toother locali-
Before the year 1889 the Catholics of Barnesville and
72 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
vicinity had no church in the town. Mass was held
by them once a month at the residence of Mr. Michael
Barrett on South Broadway, and the services were con-
ducted by the priest, whose residence was in Batesville.
The membership was small, but kept increasing', so that
it was found necessary to erect a special place of wor-
ship. A lot was purchased on the hill south of town
and in the year 1889, a small frame building' was erected.
Services were held at intervals here for one year, and on
the 29th day of September, 1890, the church was dedi-
cated. Bishop Watterson conducted the services and
preached the dedication sermon. The sermon was grand
and the attention of every one present who could get
within hearing distance was held from the beginning to
the end by the eloquence of the speaker. The church
has now a membership of about thirty. There has never
been a resident priest here. The church had been un-
der the care of Rev. Montag, of the Temperanceville
charge, and mass was held only at intervals, until
the past year, when Rev. Montag" removed to another
held of labor and Rev. Clarke was put in charge. Rev.
Clarke holds mass every two weeks. Arrangements are
being made to have the priest become a resident of the
town, when the church will have mass every Sunday.
Services for the children are held every Sunday after-
noon. Mr. Charles Ellis is instructor.
THE METHODIST PROTESTANTS.
About the year 1890 a society of the M. P. Church
was organized here and a building to worship in was
built on South Broadway. Meetings were conducted
there for about two years, when the society was dis-
banded on the account of the lack of support. The
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 73
building is still standing", and is now the residence of
A. M. E. CHURCH.
The African M. E. Church was organized in L863,
with a membership of twenty-five persons. The old
threshing machine factory of Henry Norris was bought
by the society and fitted up as a place of worship. It is
still standing on the corner of South street and Reed's
Row, but the congregation had outgrown it, and in 1894,
a new church was erected on West South street. It is
a commodious structure, very conveniently arranged on
the interior. It is surmounted by a belfry in which
hangs the old bell which for so many years called the
Methodists to worship at their church on the corner of
Chestnut and Church streets. When G. E. Bradfield
bought the old Methodist church and lot, he ij'ave this
bell to the colored people, and the}" hung it in their
church. It is said to be one of the finest toned bells ever
cast. The membership of this church is about fifty per-
sons. Rev. Morton is the present pastor.
The A. M. E. Sunday School was first organized at
Stillwater, and was moved to Barnesville in L865. Mr.
William H. King was the first superintendent, and re-
mained as such for thirty years. The number of mem-
bers is sixty. Mr. B. O. McMichael is the present su-
THE SALVATION ARMY.
In February, L886, the Salvation Army made its advent
here, under the command of Captains Stroud and Lewis.
Thev did good work, and in a short time had organized
, t HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
what was called the 6th Ohio Corps, and the command
was given to Capt. Lydia Fisher. It was not long until
nearly one hundred persons had joined the new faith.
Capt. Fisher remained in command until July of L886,
when she withdrew from the work. After this the inter-
est in the army began to weaken, and could only be re-
vived at intervals. lc ran this way for two or three
years when the Army was disbanded.
THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. -
The first public school in Barnesville was taught by
Judah Foulke during the years 1828-9, in the old Ma-
sonic building", which stood on the corner of Chestnut
and Church streets. In 1829 Mr. Kelion Hager erected a
little brick school house on the present school lot, and
the schools were transferred to this building". Mr. Enoch
Thomas was the first teacher, and Samuel Hunt the
second. The names of all the other teachers in this
school that I can recall are: Richard Hattcn, Joseph Gar-
retson. Jr., Nimrod .Johnson, Joseph Garretson, Sr,,
Philip Gulick, Dr. Ashbaugh, John W. Harris. John Gil-
liland, James R. Laws. Jesse Thomas, R. H. Taneyhill,
Wm. Smith, Asa McCoy, I. H. Smith, I. G. Spear. School
was held here until 1848, and from that time to 1857,
public schools were taught by different teachers in divers
rooms about the village. In 1851 all the scholars in the
district were put under the supervision of Prof. John I.
Thompson, assisted by William Smith, F^sq., Miss Mary
Wheeler Mackall, and Mrs. Mary Hoops. (Mrs. Bines, of
Philadelphia.) In 1854 the "Union School House*' was
erected on the same lot as the "little brick." It origi-
nally had five rooms, but an addition was built to the
east end in 1867. In 1873 a small building which stood
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 7.">
on a Lot which is now part of North Broadway near the
M. E. Church, was purchased and used for the primary
department. The following" persons were principals of
the schools taught in this building: Janus II. Ferguson,
C. W. Davenport, I. T. Wood, E. I). Whitlock, .1. A. Mc
Ewen, W. H. ECennon, andJ. M. Yarnell. The number of
pupils had increased to such an extent that ;i Larger
building was found necessary. So, in March L879, the
Union school house was torn down, more ground was
purchased, and in that year the erection of the present
school building was beg'un. It was finished in L880. This
building is of brick a id i- thre : stories high. It is sur-
mounted, by a clock-tower, which contains a clock and
an immense bell. The number of rooms was thirteen
originally, with a large hall called Lyceum Hall — on
the third floor. As time passed more rooms were needed
and a part of Lyceum Hall was made into rooms. The
number has been increased to seventeen. The super-
intendents who have had charge of the schools held
in this building have been J. M. Yarnell, H. L. Peck,
C. S. Richardson, Arthur. Powell, Joseph Rea, and E. M.
VanCleve. Mr. VanCleve is the present superintendent,
lie is assisted hy an excellent corps of teachers. The
public schools of Barnesville have always been up with
the best, :ind at present are conducted, in such a man-
ner as to place the very I).- J opportunity for a good ('"in
mon education within the reach of every child in the town.
The late Miss Julia Leeke was a teacher in our pub-
chools thirty-four years the Longest time that any
one teacher served in the schools. The teacher who
taught the next Longest time was Miss Wheeler Mackall,
who served thirty years. Both were excellent teachers
and much respected by their pupils. Miss Julia died in
<b HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
the year 1 s( .h. Miss Wheeler is living and resides in
To the man or woman who years ago attended
school in the old "Union school house,'* there comes, at
the mention of the name, along with other recollections,
the memory of the big" front yard, with its wealth of
beautiful flowers. The yard was fenced in with paling's.
At the west end was an immense rockery with a foun-
tain playing over it. The rest of the yard was laid out
in liower-beds, in which all sorts of flowers of every hue
were growing. Great interest was taken by each pupil
and teacher in enhancing the beauty of his or her spec-
ial portion of the ground set apart for each room, and
each room vied with the other in trying to have the
An attempt was made about the year 1871-2, to
found a college in Barnesville. A branch of the New-
market College (now Scio), was started, with Prof. Gib-
son, of Harlem Springs, as instructor. The sessions
were held in the old Wartield Hall, on Main street.
Many of our people, as well as a number from surround-
ing towns, became patrons of the new college, and about
fifty pupils were enrolled. It was run about a year,
when it was given up.
Until the year 1855 but very little had been done for
the education of the colored children in the town. Their
first teacher up to that time was Jesse Hargrave. He
was paid partly by the parents of the children and partly
out of the public funds. In that year a school district
for colored children was formed. A room was rented on
Arch street, and Miss H. F. Price was teacher. In 1868
a brick school house was erected for them about a
quarter of a mile south of town, and here school was
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 77
held until the year L887, when the colored children were
admitted to the white schools.
Friendship Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons was
organized on the 27th of February, L827. About this
time there was a strong" anti-Masonic feeling" sweeping the
country, and so strong was the feeling in this part of
Ohio, that the lodge here, after a shaky existence of
seven years, surrendered their charter in 1834, and for
eight years the lodg"e ceased to exist. But in 1842 the
old charter was restored, and from that day to this the
lodge has not failed to hold its monthly meetings. Un-
til the year 1890, the lodge meetings were held in the old
hall that stood on the corner of Chestnut and Church
streets, and in the old Masonic Hall, on East Hill, but in
that year a handsome new hail with a stone front was
erected on the sonth side of Central Main street. Here
the lodge holds its meetings. The number of members
at present is eighty-nine.
Barnesville Chapter of Royal and Arch Masons was
organized on the 15th of February, 1856. The present
membership is sixty-nine.
March 30, U 87, a Fraternal Mystic Circle was formed
in Barnesville. At the beginning the Circle had a mem-
bership of thirty, and held its meetings every month.
The number of members has slowly decreased, the pres-
ent number being nine. They do not hold any meetings.
but each member does his part towards holding the or-
The Knights of Pythias was organized in November,
1874, and has had a prosperous career. It is one of the
Leadina" benevolent societies in the town. Their hall is
, s HISTORY OF BARNESVIELE.
over McKeever's hardware store. The membership at
present is one hundred and forty-six.
The Lodg'e of I. 0. 0. F. was organized in Barnes-
ville, June 13, L851. The Lodg'e has been prosperous
e\ er since its organization. In 1886-7 they erected a new
hall on the site of the old Prasier House. The member-
ship of the lodg'e at present is one hundred and eig'hty.
Sharon Encampment I. 0. O. F. was instituted in
the town July 29, L868.
The Daughters of Rebekah, a branch of the Odd Fel-
lows, was organized in 1880. It is composed of ladies,
and has thirty-three members.
The colored Odd Fellows Lodge was organized in
1884, and the membership at present is fourteen. They
have their own hall, which is situated at the southern
end of Vine street.
The Junior Order of American Mechanics was or-
ganized November 19, L891, with ten charter members.
The membership at present is fifty-four.
A Grove of Druids was organized in the town in 1871,
but it existed only a short time. A Wigwam of Red
Meii was also erected in 1872, and after nourishing finely
for about two years, the members in a body, constituted
the charter members of the Knights of Pythias. Barnes-
ville lias also had at other times lodges of Sons of Tem-
perance and Good Templars, which would flourish for a
season, then cease to exist.
HIKLES POST XO. 220 (J. A. R.
This Post was organized in 1882, with Maj. E. T. Petty
as commander. It w r as named for one of Barnesville's
heroic men — Robert Hilles who gave his life to his
country in the battle of the Wilderness. The Post at
IIISTOKY OF BARNESVILLE. 7'.l
one time had nearly one hundred members, but as time
passes on the little band slowly decreases, and now num-
bers about forty-five. When the old soldier drops from
the ranks of the Grand Army his place cannot be filled,
and in the course of time the heroes of one of the fiercest
wars in the world's history will have passed away. Ma-
jor E. T. Petty is the present commander of Hilles Post.
In connection with the G. A. R. is the Womans* Re-
lief Corps. This society was organized in 1884, and has
a membership of forty. The object of this society is to
aid the Grand Army in their work, and much charitable
work is done by both societies.
SONS OF VETERANS.
April 16, L885, Chickamaug-a Camp No. 38 S. of V.
was organized here with ten charter members. The- so-
ciety nourished for many years, but after awhile the in-
terest in the cam}) decreased and the charter was finally
A Ladies' Aid Society was organized in connection
with the S. of V. It was started April 20, 1886, and was
the first society of the kind organized in the state. This
society was to aid the Sons in their work, and long after
that command had ceased to be, this little band kept on
working, and much good was done in all kinds of chari-
table work. But in the summer of 1897 the Society dis-
banded on account of lack of attendance and interest of
Till': BUILDING ASSOCIATIONS.
The People's Building and Loan Company was or-
ganized June 6, 10. Idle office was first in the shoe
shop of I. E. Hunt, on Chestnut street, and was kept
SO HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
there about three years. The company was re-organized
on the perpetual plan January 28, 1888. The office was
then removed to the building formerly occupied by Cole's
tin store, on West Main street, where it remained for
two years. But owing to increasing business the office
was removed to more commodious quarters in the build-
ing erected by the First National Bank, where it still is.
The company has paid up stock of nearly $40,000.
The Home Building and Loan Company of Barnes-
ville was incorporated .January 28, L889. The plan at
the beginning was "terminating," that is when shares of
stock reached their par value the} T were paid off and
cancelled. About four years ago what is called the
"Dayton" plan was substituted. Under this plan the
shares of stock do not mature, and can be taken or with-
drawn at any time at the option of the member.
The First National Bank of Barnesviile was char-
tered in 1865, with $150,000 capital and surplus. .) . M.
LeAvis is the president, and G. E. Bradtield, cashier.
The People's National Bank was chartered in 1883,
with 1120,000 capital and surplus. Dr. J. S. Ely is presi-
dent; T. J. Buchanan, vice-president, and O. P. Norris,
In May, 1858, ,the grounds for the Southern Ceme-
terv were purchased of Dr. Isaac Hoover. They were
dedicated to cemetery purposes August 4, 1858. The
association is known as the Barnesviile Cemetery Asso-
Green Mount Cemetery Association was formed May
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. H
5, 1858. Tliis cemetery is situated in the northern part
of the town, upon what has always been known as Knob
Field, and which is one of the highest points in t ho state.
T EM] ' ERA NC E MO V EMENTS.
I was present at the tirst temperance meeting ever
held at Barnesville. It was held in December, L835.
Hon. John Davenport presented the pledge, lie had
been to Baltimore to replenish his stock of goods, and
brought the pledge with him on his return. It was a
pledge to refrain from the use of distilled liquors — that
was all. It was signed by nearly all present, and
checked drunkenness, but the excitement soon died away.
The next temperance demonstration was the Wash-
ingtonian bubble in 1842. It took with the people like
wild-tire. It was a clean-cut teetotal affair, and lasted
for a long time as a restraining influence.
The next temperance movement was the organiza-
tion of two lodges of Sons of Temperance -the Barnes-
ville Lodg"e, and the Hobah Division. They did incalcu-
lable good, as they saved three or four of our citizens,
who afterwards adorned the Barnesville community, and
whose influence is still felt here.
In the latter part of L873 a crusade against saloons
was organized at Hillsboro, Highland county, Ohio, by
the women. It was a unique movement. The women
went in great crowds and held prayer meetings at the
doors of the saloons -closing nearly every saloon before
which they appeared. The excitement struck- Barnes-
ville at the latter end of February. 1874. When that
crusade began in the town a majority of the people fa-
vored the use of intoxicants, but by iis influence the ma-
jority went to the other side. The seed then sown had
82 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
a good effect in preparing" the people to vote for the pro-
hibition amendment in L883, by a large majority, and
also for prohibition in 1886.
The Murphy movement, introduced by Mrs. Reese,
of Steubenville, in 1*77, also had its run, and many a
toper was for a time rescued from his cups.
In the fall of 1*1)5 Rev. Sam Small conducted a ten
days" evangelistic meeting in the M. E. Church in the
behalf of temperance.
Barnesville of ye olden time had no place for public
amusements except tobacco barns and churches, and in
fact there were no amusements except those furnished
by the young' people. The first public hall was erected
by William Reed, and was the old R. M. Gunning' build-
ing", which was burned down in 1895. It was succes-
sively known as Reed's, Warfield's and Temperance Hall.
Here the first theatrical performance was given in the
winter of 1858, by J. H. Bryan & Co., and the first play
was "Don Caesar de Bazan," followed by "Rob Roy" the
next night. Bryan was the equal of any actor who has
since come here, and by "doubling" up his little com-
pany of five persons he gave a very creditable perform-
ance. A prominent church member was among the
crowd that stood up to watch the performance. In the
most affecting" part, where the heroine was dying" of a
broken heart, he was convulsed with laughter, and ex-
claimed: — "Gosh! isn't that funny!" The next place of
amusement was Hunt's Hall, which was built about 1870,
and was dedicated with an exhibition by the middle-
aged folks, in which W. T. Meek, J. H. Collins, Dr.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 83
Kemp, Dr. Ely, and other local Lights took- prominent
parts. The dedication was a grand success, and was
the -'last appearance on any stage" of any of tin- middle-
aged people of Barnesville. After City Hall was built,
all traveling shows and local entertainments gave their
performances in that hall. City Hall was burned down
in the summer of L896, and for several months the town
was without a place for theatrical amusements. But in
the winter of L897, Eli Moore, one of our public-spirited
citizens, began the erection of an opera house on Church
street, and on New Year's night, L898, the first perform-
ance — "Faust," by the Labadie Co., — was presented to a
large audience. Our people can now have the pleasure
of seeing some of the very best traveling companies.
SOME OTHER INDUSTRIES.
Mr. C. P. Dobbins, since leaving the grocery busi-
ness, has been engaged in buying wool, furs, pelts, and
has the only establishment of the kind in the town.
There are others who deal in wool. Barnesville has two
"racket" or cheap stores, kept by Prank Hagedorn, and
Mr. Warrick. There are two feed stores, kept by John
Price and 1. P. Lewis. Fred Dunkle and the Galloway
way Brothers have shops and conduct a business in the
hanging of wall paper. The wagon-making shops arc
run by Isaac Perry, John Seals and Mr. Vansickle. Mr.
Dick and Tipton & Co. run a blacksmithing trade.
For many years Charles Thornberry conducted a
fruit and confectionery store here, but he recently re-
moved to Cambridge. Since then the business has been
run by his brother, Wilbur Thornberry. A. Taylor &
Son conduct a grocery business on Arch street. Louis
H4 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
Meyers conducts a tobacco store and restaurant on Main
THE WINDOW GLASS WORKS.
The Barnes ville Window (Mass Co. was organized in
March 1883, with a capital stock of $60,000. This is the
largest industry in the town, and gives employment to
upwards of one hundred persons. The factory is situated
near the B. & O. depot. At the start only a ten pot fur-
nace was built, but in L888— 4 an additional furnace of
eight pots was built. Mr. Will Jordan is the superin-
THE WARREN CAS & OIL CO.
It was the general belief for many years that in the
depths of the earth around Barnesville were hidden
quantities of gas and oil, and so confident were the city
fathers in regard to the matter, that about the year 1887,
they leased ground on the .lames Walton farm, and a
well was sunk by the town. This well, however, proved
to be what is called a duster, and was no good. But,
notwithstanding this fact, a number of our business men
formed a company, and under the title of The Warren
Gas & Oil Company, went to work in earnest. Land
was leased in different sections around in the vicinity,
and wells were sunk. The first well was sunk on the
farm of Wm. Barlow, which proved to be a duster. The
next two wells were on the T. C. Parker farm, and a good
volume of gas was the result. In 1890 a re-organization
of the company took place. In the fall of that year gas
was brought into the town. They next put down a well
on the Laughlin farm, which was one o; the best. Eight
more wells were drilled for gas, seven of which turned
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 85
out a good quantity of gas. In the- fall of L893, oil was
struck on the Burdette and Buchanan lands. Since that
time six other wells have been drilled for oil. In Octo-
ber, 1898, the .lias part of the company was sold to Treat
& Crawford, one of the wealthiest oil and gas companies
in the country, and the prospects are that gas will be
brought to the town from Noble county, and in such
quantities that everybody who desires it can have a
THE TELEPHONE COMPANY.
By the efforts of the Messrs. Doudna, a telephone
company was started in Barnesville and organized under
the name of The Barnesville Telephone Company, in
August, L895. The project was very successful and was
run by this company for three years. In February, L898,
all of the Barnesville system passed into the control of
the Bell Telephone Co. In May. 1898, all the receivers
and other apparatus of the former company were taken a
short distance east of town and piled up and a huge bon-
fire made of them. They were replaced by others from
the new company. In September, L898, the long dis-
tance telephone was established, and Barnesville is now
on speaking terms with the outside world.
THE BERRY CULTURE.
A leading industry of Barnesville and the vicinity,
and one which gives employment to scores of people for
about six weeks in the year, is the cultivation of
the strawberry and the raspberry. The strawberry cul-
ture was begun in 1859 by Daniel Barr, on the little farm
south of town, now owned by T. T. Hanlon. Mr. Barr
only grew them in small quantities, just enough to sup-
86 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
ply the home market. He also cultivated the raspberry.
In 1860 William Smith, Esq., commenced the cultivation
of the strawberry on a larger scale. He was soon fol-
lowed by others, among whom were Stewart Morrow,
John Scoles, the Messrs. Barlow, and John Bryant.
These gentlemen planted acres of the strawberry, and
shipments were made to Wheeling, Columbus, and other
near points, but in 1NH0, James Edgerton made the ex-
periment of shipping to Chicago, and it proved so much
of a success, that at present the largest shipments are
made to that city, although large quantities are sent to
Pittsburg, Baltimore and Philadelphia. The Barnesville
strawberry is famous, and its fame extends overOall the
country. The soil here seems to be specially adapted to
this berry, and there are many growers at the present
who have acres planted, and who ship many hundreds of
bushels. There are also innumerable small growers — in
fact nearly everybody in the vicinity who owns any
land at all has his "strawberry patch," and every va-
riety is grown. Thousands of bushels are shipped to the
city markets every season. The cultivation of the rasp-
berry is also extensive, and these berries are also sent
to other markets. Other small fruits are also raised in
Barnesville was incorporated in 1834-5, and Isaac-
Barnes was chosen the first mayor. The early records
of the town have been lost, and from that time until
L855, no account can be given of the different municipal
changes. But it is known that the officers were elected
annually, and the following persons were chosen as
mayors about as their names stand: — Francis E. Uncles,
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 87
Lewis H. Green, Col. Benjamin Muck-all, Kelion Eager,
John McGill, Evan Butler, and John McCune. From
L855 the following person have been mayor: — Benjamin
Davenport, John Davenport, Esq., Stephen Wilson, S.
J. Evans, N. Criswell, Handel Vance, H. F. Odell, Ben
jamin Davenport, John M. Gardner, James W. Warfield,
Benjamin Davenport, John M. Gardner, R. C. Graves,
James A. Barnes, Michael D. King, John M. Gardner,
R. H. Taneyhill, H. W. Baker, Dr. Kemp, H. W. Baker,
and James White, who is the present incumbent of the
office. H. W. Baker served as mayor over twenty years,
the longest time for any one person. Mayor White is no
doubt the youngest man who has held the office.
ADDITIONS OF TERRITORY.
Additions to the territory of Barnesville have been
made by the following persons: — On the southwest side
by Philip Hunt; on the southeast side by William Reed.
William A. Talbott, and H. M. Hickock; on the north
and northeast part by the Waltons, Kelion Hager, Will-
iam K. Tipton, Samuel Hilles, and Watt Brothers; on
the west and northwest by John Cole, John Tillman,
James Taylor, Frank Riley, and the heirs of Daniel
Laws; on the east by Abel Lewis. The town is now-
spread over a full section of land.
In L870 a city hall was erected on the west side of
Arch street. It contained a lire engine apartment, the
mayor's office, township clerk's office, prison, and an
audience room that would seal about five hundred per-
sons. It was surmounted by a cupola that contained a
town clock" and a bell. in the summer of 1896 this town
88 HISTORY OP BARNESVILLE.
building was destroyed by fire. It was replaced in the
summer of 1898 by a smaller, but very commodious struc-
ture, which contains the same number of apartments
with the exception of an audience room.
Barnesville was first lighted with gas on Christmas
night, 1874, the company having' been organized just
four months previously. The works are located a little
north of the Hilles flouring mill, and were erected by B.
Van Steinberg, a young man from New York, at a cost
of $24,000, and Samuel Hilles was the first superintend-
ent. The town was lighted in this manner, until in
March, 1890, an ordinance was passed by the city, pro-
viding for the lighting of the town with electric lights,
and the contract was given to the Ft. Wayne Electric
Lighting Co. of Ft. Wayne, Ind. The town is now
well lighted by the incandescent system of electric light-
ing. Some of the business firms have the electric lights
in their stores. Mr. Richard Timmons is the present
The paving of the streets of Barnesville was first
commenced in the year 1891, when Main street, between
Broadway and Lincoln avenue, and Arch street, be-
tween Main and Church streets, were paved. Charles
Rosser was the contractor. In 1892 Main street, be-
tween Lincoln avenue and Wilson's alley; Chestnut
street and Lincoln avenue were paved, E. M. Ayers being
the contractor. In 1893 Main street, west of Broadway,
was paved by T. B. Townsend Co. ; Walnut street by
Hilles & Freshwater; and Arch street, between Church
and Walnut, was paved. In 1897 Main street, east of
Wilson's alley, was paved by Fowler & Shipley.
In the summer of 1897 all the principal roads lead-
ing into the town were piked to distances ranging from
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 89
two to three miles in the country, thus making travel
possible on roads, that before had been impassable
for teams in the winter season.
The Barnesville Fire Department numbers about sev-
enty volunteer members. The hrst lire engine for the
town was purchased about tw T enty-five years ago, and
has always done good service. In 1894 a new engine
with all the modern improvements was bought, and the
old engine put aside. But "Old Rough and Ready," as
the old engine is named, has been called out on several
occasions, and its services found invaluable. The town
is well equipped with all the apparatus used in lighting
THE B. & O. R. R. — ITS AGENTS HERE.
The Central Ohio Railroad was finished through
Barnesville in 1854, and in August of that year the first
cars reached the town. They came from the west. In
December, 1866, the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad leased
this road. The first agent at this place was W. L.
Ilager, a man popular with everybody. He retired in
1858. He was succeeded by Lewis H. Green, a man of
genial manners and good business qualities. After him
came Eb. Hunt, who introduced the telegraph era in
railway management, trains running before that time
without the aid of telegraphy. When Mr. Hunt retired
the late E. V. Shipley was appointed, and held the place
until his hearing became defective. I. R. Lane was the
next agent, and has held the position ever since, with the
exception of a few years, when he was appointed to a
similar position at Shelby, Ohio. Mr. Johnson was the
agent at that time, and continued until his death, when
Mr. Lane again became agent here. Mr. Lane is one of
90 HISTORY OF BARNESVILEE.
our foremost citizens, and is a prominent Grand Army
were among the earliest settlers of this part of Ohio.
Some came from North Carolina, some from New Jersey,
Virginia, Tennessee, Pennsylvania and New York. At
one time they had large meetings at Somerton, Belmont,
Loyds\ ille, and St. Clairsville, with smaller ones in diff-
erent parts of the county. They have formed a very in-
telligent part of our community, and many who are not
now Friends are descendants from them. Many families
have moved to the west, and representatives of this
denomination at this place may be found in all of the
Western States. The iirst meeting-house built by the
Friends was in the spring' of 1804. It was built of logs,
on the site of the present meeting-house, about one mile
and a half east of town, and was the first house built for
Christian worship in Warren township. Ruth Boswell
preached the lirst sermon within its walls. This little
meeting-house gave place to a brick structure in 1812.
The late Hosea Doudna, Sr., was its first steward. In
the year 1878 this brick was torn down, and the present
brick structure erected on the same site. The Yearly
Meeting which was formerly held at Mt. Pleasant is now
held here, and is attended by Friends from all over the
country. Near the meeting-house is a college building,
which was erected in 1875. This is a select school, none
but members of the Society being allow T ed to attend. It
is one of the best institutions of the kind in the country.
A VALUABLE RELIC.
Among" the interesting: relics in Barnesville is a
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. HI
piano, which at one time belonged to General George
Washington. The following" are the statements of the
parties familiar with its history:
Ottawa, Kansas, Sept. 4th, 18.88.
.1. H. Collins, Esq., Columbus, O.,
Dear Sir — Your inquiry respecting the history of a
piano which was in my family for a number of years, 1
give to the best of my recollection and information.
The piano in question was imported by General
Washington and presented to his niece, Miss Blackburn,
who retained it a number of years and afterwards parted
with it to Major William Hickman, of Jefferson county,
Virginia, in whose family it remained until the marriage
of his youngest daughter to myself in 1S31. In L832 we
brought it to Barnes ville, Belmont county, Ohio, where
it has remained ever since.
Very respectfully yours, etc.,
"I have known the piano described above as long as
I can remember. Its owner, Mrs. Coulson Davenport,
formerly Miss Ellen Hickman, now deceased, being my
aunt. Its history, according to family tradition, is the
same as that given by my uncle, Coulson Davenport, in
the above letter. Mrs. J. H. Collins. - '
some* other interesting items.
The front portion of the Crawford residence on
( heslnut street is undoubtedly the oldest house in Barnes-
ville. It is built of logs, and was originally a part of
the residence of Joseph Taylor, one of the prominent
early citizens of Barnesville. The house has since been
weather-boarded and improved somewhat, and is still in
excellent repair. Mrs. Crawford lias lived in the house
92 HISTORY OF BAKNESVILLE.
over seventy-five years, and in speaking of it says that
sixty-six years ago Mr. James Round, now of Cedar
Rapids, Iowa, and a Miss Laurie were married in that
very house. She was the bridesmaid and Mr. John Gib-
son was the groomsman. Mr. Round is the son of Rev.
James Round, who sank the first tanyard. He was
the first child born in the town, and is upwards of eigh-
ty-five years of age. He visited Barnesville the past
summer, and is hale and hearty for a man of his age.
Miss Lairie was the step-daughter of Nathan John.
All to the rear and surrounding the Crawford resi-
dence was an immense orchard, planted by Mr. Taylor.
This orchard is all gone, but on the north side of the
house there stands to-day two stately pear trees, which
no doubt were planted by Mr. Taylor, as Mrs. Craw-
ford remembers to have eaten pears from them sev-
enty-five years ago. So these trees must be upwards of
eighty-five or ninety years old. They are remarkable fruit
producers. Some thirty years ago, as many as forty
bushels of pears were sold from these trees in one sea-
son, not taking" into account the large number that were
given away or wasted. They are a large yellow pear,
of what is called the Belle variety, and have never been
known to fail one season.
There are not many of the old building's standing
now. Among those at the present time are the old semi-
nar} 7 building", now the residence of Mrs. Jane Davis, on
Chestnut street, the little brick just below the residence
of Mr. James Watt on East Hill, and which was for so
long a time the residence of Dr. Kemp, and the old
academy building on East Hill.
Tiie lot at the southeast corner of Chestnut and
Church streets has had a career worthy of special notice.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 93
At first it was dedicated to the use of all shows that
visited Barnesville. It was then bought as a site for
the M. E. Church building in L856. When that was
abandoned to erect the present grand affair further west
on Church street, it w T as bought by Mr. Edward Brad-
field, who put up his palatial residence on it.
The ground upon which Barnesville stands was,
when in woods, much noted for the quantity of ginseng"
that grew upon it. Ginseng gathering was a great in-
dustry in early times, being much like the berry indus-
try at present. The persons who gathered the ginseng
carried their dinners with them. When the time tor din-
ner came the oldest of the party would give the signal
to the others by whooping through his hands, and all
would gather on a little knoll wiiere Eli Moore's opera
house now stands, and there the dinner hour was passed
amid gaiety and a good social time. Among the per-
sons who g'athered ginseng on these grounds were Aunt
Rachel Parsons and Governor Shannon. All the older
people remember Aunt Rachel. She was a devout mem-
ber of the Methodist church, and no matter how 7 bad the
weather, she w T as alw r ays found in her accustomed place
at church. Governor Shannon was quite a little boy
when he gathered the ginseng roots from these hills.
At the time the town was settled there was, at the
center of the crossing" between Main and Chestnut
streets a spring of excellent water. From it to the
south extended a marsh, and in this marsh in warm
weather, bears would come to wallow. John Shannon.
when a boy. shot a bear there that weighed four hundred
pounds. When Rev. Round settled here, he planted a
barrel in this spring so as to accumulate water for the
use of his family and tanyard. Years afterward the barrel
HI HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
was removed, and the spring was dug out, walled up like
a well, boxed in, with windlass and bucket and an iron
ladle chained to the side. At the northwest corner of
the platform a post was planted with four ting'er-boards
on it, which pointed out the way and distance to McCon-
nellsville, Cambridge, Old Wheeling Road and the Flats
of Grave Creek. At this old well the traders who had
brought ginseng and furs to trade for salt, sugar, etc.,
gathered, and sang and danced and exchanged greetings
before returning to their homes. Great was the merry-
making in old Barnesville. But these things have all
passed, and are known no more except in history.
Of all the persons living in Barnesville in 1H8^
— old and young- -there are still living from twenty-
five to thirty persons. Over twenty of them reside
in the town. More members of the William G. Shank-
land family are still living that were living then,
than any other family then in Barnesville. But they are
all scattered over the Union, not one living now in
Lot No. ."H on the southwest corner of Main and
Chestnut streets is a notable place. On it was sunk the
first tanyard in the town. At its south side was the tan
house, a two-story brick building. At its north side was
the bark mill and the bark house. It was operated as a
tannery until L834, when the building was turned into a
tobacco packing house. A broad gateway with an
equally broad g'ate opened into the general lot. The in-
side was the playground for the boys, where all sorts of
games of the times were played. Hop-step-and-jump
was a favorite sport then, so was corner-ball. The boys
used the tanbark in which to turn hand-springs and
somersaults. I saw Rev. Swahey and Hon. M. P.
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 9y
Deady, when boys, engaged at these sports on this old
tanbark by way of recreation, and they enjoyed it
1 1 n ge 1 y .
SOCIAL AND CONVENTIONAL CHANGES.
The social and conventional changes in Barnesville
since 1832 deserve special notice. In 1832 at Barnes-
ville Christinas day was paid no more attention to than
New Year's day is now. Then New Year's day was like
Christmas is now, and Christmas as New Year's day is
now. Of course there were a very few families that
kept Christmas as it is now.
The ceremony of marriages was then almost univer-
sally performed by the Justices of the Peace, while the
minister only married a very few. I was at a loss to
find out why these things were so. On investigation I
found that it came by the force of Puritanical influences.
The Catholic Church had made the marriage a sacra-
ment, and the Episcopal Church retained much that was
Romish to the hilt. The dissenters, therefore, discarded
everything that had even the scent of Romish practice
about it. Christmas was a grand day with the Mother
Church, and the Puritans treated it with the most per-
fect contempt. They went so far as to eschew the mince
pie because it was the pet pie for Christmas. No man
not one in a thousand wore beards, but were clean
shaven. A man with a full beard was a show and there
was never a mustache to be seen. I remember only one
man who had a full beard. That was Mr. Benjamin
Meade, late of Quaker City, Ohio. There were no
dances. Then among decent people tin- fiddle was the
devil's own instrument, and to be seen with one in your
hands stained you for life. And at all meetings and
96 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
public gathering's the men sat by themselves in a sepa-
rate part from the women.
In 1832 there were no social distinctions, only those
founded in nature or on the conduct of the person. Nat-
ural distinctions are the result of the differences in the
moral, mental and physical in the make-up of mankind.
Some families are good citizens and neighbors by in-
stinct, treating all with respect who lead good moral
lives. Such only were the aristocrats of society in
Barnes ville in 1832. There were a few men and women
who made fruitless efforts to get up class distinction.
The people then were homogeneous — in fact all classes
were on a common level. A party was constituted of
the girls of the richest family to the servant girl of the
kitchen, and all w T ere paid equal respect. Many a party
was not held because there was no room large enough
at the home of the parties to hold all the girls, and they
would not slight any.
BARNESVILLE IN THE WAR OF L861- 5.
To do justice to this subject would require months of
time, and would make a large and interesting' volume in
itself, yet the items presented will be found interesting".
The war found us a very peaceable old town — none
dreamed there were men of iron hearts amongst us, who
could, when necessary, brave death and suffering for a
great principal. Yet when the foe threatened, the good
old town woke up, and hundreds of her best citizens
leaped into the columns marching to the front, deter-
mined that our national unity should be preserved. How
well they did their duty was attested on every battle-
field of the long four years of war, by the death of many
whose remains still lay buried under the cedars of the
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. ( .'7
South, and by the shattered forms of many who were
borne back to us again. Barnes ville, through her manly
sons, was present on every battlefield, and heard the
crack of every gun.
More men went from here in the 3d Ohio than in any
other regiment — about fifty. They were among the first
to answer the three months call, and upon expiration of
this term promptly re-enlisted in the three years* service,
and had the honor of being the first three years" men to
leave the state for the theater of war, reporting - to Gen-
eral MeClellan at Grafton, June 23, 1861. Their pass-
age through this place was one of great excitement,
everybody turned out to get a parting look at the brave
and patriotic sons, brothers, husbands, lovers. On Nov.
HH, 1861, the regiment w r as moved to Louisville, Ky., and
served through Kentucky, Tennessee and Alabama, fol-
lowing Bragg back to Louisville in the fall of 1H6L\ At
Perry ville, Ky., the color bearer and five others who
caught up the colors were shot down, the regiment losing
L'1*") men. In April, 1863, the regiment was ordered on a
raid in Georgia, to burn foundries ani shops in Rome,
burn bridges, etc. On May 3d, 1863, the command was
compelled to surrender to the enemy, and became prison-
ers of war, The officers were sent to Libby and men pa
rolled, and did good service in the state quelling disturb-
ance, and in pursuit of Morgan's rebel raiders.
Killed in action— E. Hall, A. Morris, Owen Moore,
Benjamin Riley, Benjamin Uncles. Wounded— J. L. Hall,
Leven Ellis, Wm. H. Barnes. Missing — A. Livingston.
Died in service — Francis Hall, Morgan McCroba, Lee
Tillman, Chas. Lyles, David Stidd, Joel 0. Tracy, Tho-
mas Messer. Prisoners of war— S. B. Piper. Francis
Hall, B. Mahanna, Morgan McCroba, Jonathan Ellis, B.
98 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE*
French. Clias. Briggs, D. W. Brambaugh, M. D. King, R.
J. Dennis, Win. McLeary, Wm. McCartney, Chas. Etzler,
Samuel French, M. Monahan, J. H. Tracy, Wm. Moore,
J. T. Hunt, Chas. McKeon, E. Doudna, Wilson Gilliland,
Robert Hays, Reuben A. Wartield, Leonard Hays. It is
evident the 3rd Ohio saw a great deal of hard service.
Five went in the Loth Ohio, of whom three were
killed or wounded, a very large per cent. Killed — Rufus
Howard. Wounded — Samuel Hilles and Flenry Brooks.
Engagements — Green River, Shiloh, Corinth, Liberty
Gap, Stone River, Chickamaug'a, Mission Ridge, Atlanta
Campaign, March to the Sea. Through the Carolinas
Thirty-seven Barnesville boys volunteered in the
30th Ohio. Of this number there were killed in action,
Israel P. White, Thomas K. White, John K. Mossburg,
Nathan J. White, Elza Gallagher, and' Robert Cross.
Died in service — James W. White, Josiah D. Lupton, J.
Y. Robinson, William W T ragg, James McKirihan, and
Wm. Beard. Wounded — Ambrose Seals, William Hill,
William D. Cole, James Stubbs. J. Y. Robinson, and
Thomas C. Shankland. Engagements — Second Bull Run,
South Mountain, Federick City, Antietem, Port Hudson,
Jackson, Vickburg, Mission Ridge, Buzzard Roost,
Peach Tree Creek, Atlanta, Jonesboro, Sherman's March
to the Sea, Fort McAllister and Bentonville. This regi-
ment was in service from the beginning to the close of
the war, and the anecdotes and experiences related by
the survivors would make an interesting volume. They
came out veterans tried in the hottest fires.
Fifty or sixty went in the 52d Ohio from this place.
They formed a part of the southwestern forces, and
made a very creditable record in the battles of Perry-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. 99
ville, Stone River, Chickamauga, Mission Ridge, Knos
ville, Buzzard Roost, Reseea, Kenesaw Mountain, Rome,
Atlanta, Jonesboro, March to the Sea, Averysboro and
Bentonville. At the charge on Kenesaw, their Colonel,
Dan McCook, who was in command of the brigade, was
mortally wounded as he mounted the enemy's work's.
The next ranking officer, Col. Harman, assumed com-
mand and shouting - "Forward," was shot through the
head and instantly killed. Col. Dilworth, then succeed-
ing to command, was within ten minutes shot through
the neck, after which Col. Langley was in command un-
til the close of the engagement. In this charge William
Bradfield was mortally wounded. Those killed in ser-
vice were Al Brister, Boyd Forbes and Fletcher Beatty.
Wounded— John N. (Flick) Hunt, Webster Folger. Died
— John Hardesty.
The 60th O. V. I. had thirty-two men from this
place, of whom there were killed in action Dewit Steele,
James F. Kuhns, S. Griffith, Jonathan Evans, and James
Barnes. Wounded — James White, William M. Nace,
John W. Hayes, Jesse B. Ellis, William H. Barnes,
George H. Tillman, Owen Delong, and John Bolon.
James A. Vance died in Andersonville prison, after
suffering all the horrors of that place. James \V.
White and John W. Crew died in the service. Dur-
ing one year's service, this regiment lost five hundred
and rive men. The regiment took an honorable part in
the following engagements — The Wilderness, Nye River,
Spottsylvania, North and South Anna, Salem C. H.,
Cold Harbor, Petersburg. Weldon Railroad, Ream's Sta
tion, Pegram Farm, Hatcher's Run. and Fort Steadman
— a goodly list of famous battles.
Ten of our men enlisted in the L26th Ohio, which saw
10(1 HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
some of the most severe service in Virginia. This regi-
ment was sent to New York in August, 1863, to quell the
riots during the enforcement of the draft. They took
an active part in the following engagements — Martins-
burg, Wapping Heights, Culpepper C. H., Bristow Sta-
tion, Bealton Station, Kelley's Ford, Locust Grove, Mine
Run, Wilderness, Alsop's Farm, Spottsylvania, North
Anna, Tolopotamy, Cold Harbor, Bermuda Hundred,
Weldon R. R., Monocacy, Snicker's Ferry, Charleston,
Smithfield, Opequam, Flint Hill, Fisher's Hill, Cedar
Creek, and Petersburg. Lieutenant Robert Hilles, for
whom our Grand Army Post is named, was killed in the
battle of the Wilderness. There w T ere w T ounded — Henry
Lupton and John Scoles. Captured — Abe Kelley, H. W.
Ball, John Scoles and W. Edgar Dove. Mr. Dove spent
some time as a prisoner at Andersonville, and while be-
ing transferred to Florence escaped, and after four
months' traveling, mostly at night, entered the Union
lines at Knoxville, Tennessee. He afterwards became a
lieutenant and captain in the Regular Infantry, and
served with credit on the frontier. He was drowned in
the Niagara River, May 28, 1881.
Two full companies were organized and drilled for
service in the Department of the Monongahela, and
were at one time called to Erie, Pa. While not actively
engaged against the enemy, they constituted a good re-
serve force for an emergency.
But once was our town threatened by the enemy,
when that bold raider Morgan passed like the Hash of a
meteor across the State. It was believed he would not
neglect so important a place as this, so there was hurry-
ing to and fro, able bodied men hunted up their muskets,
some fell into ranks without muskets, the main force pro-
HISTORY OF BARNESVILLE. lo|
ceeding to the trestle work', as it was believed that was
the route by which the enemy would come. Parties
were sent out to obstruct the roads as they went out, at
the same time cutting off their own return, a species of
strategy not taught by the best authorities. The city
council, in response to a request from Provost Marshal
David McCartney, instructed that officer to present the
freedom of the city on a silver platter to the bold Mor-
gan, and the forces defending the town to be careful and
not hurt any of the enemy. It was a great insult to the
trembling maiden that the rebel chief refused to accept
her proffered hand, but rode to other conquests. There
was great excitement in every household. All the sil-
verware and other valuables were hurriedly secreted,
and for a few nights but little sleep was indulged in.
Barnesville was for a time the headquarters of the
draft commissioner of the district, Oliver Keyser, and
Provost Marshal McCartney. Here the drafting took
place that settled the fate of many a man, and here the
drafted forces reported.
Those who took part in the great struggle are now
far into the autumn of life, gray hairs predominate, they
see a new generation grown up around them, yet the
spirit of patriotism is as strong in them to-day as it was
when as young men they offered their services and
lives to their country, and if, in the late war with Spain,
their services had been required, they would no doubt
have answered to the call with promptness.
BARNESVILLE BOYS IN THE SPANISH- AMERICAN WAR.
After over thirty years of peace our country was
again involved in war, this time with a foreign nation.
And from every part of the country, our young men re
102 EIISTORY OF BARNESVILLE.
sponded, thus showing to the world the great depth of
patriotism which lies in the hearts of the young" of this
generation. Barnesville was well represented in the
Spanish-American war. Among the young' men who
went as volunteers were Willis Heed, Wm. Hilles, Con-
stant Kleinlienz, Wm. Hance, Ross Ellis, Ralph Lippin-
cott, Jas. Shankland, Elmer Pack, Harry Hager, Charles
Vansickle, George Marlow T , and George Peddicord. Of
the former Barnesville boys who enlisted were Edward
Brown, Bert Harris, George Evans, and James Jackson
and Matthew T Hurley, two colored young men. There
are a number of our boys who belong to the regular ser-
vice. Lieutenant Rufus Lane w r as stationed on the flag-
ship, New T York, and w r as wdth Sampson's fleet during
all its engagements with the enemy. Murray Holloway,
another former Barnesville boy, w T as on Dewey's flag-
ship, the Olympia, at the engagement of that Admiral
with the Spanish in the Philippines.
Barnes ville in 1832 1 to 1 I
First period, from 1808 to 1832 11 to 27
Mechanical and other industries, li'; James Rigg's
nail factory, 14; Other industries, 15; Mercantile
houses, 16; Tobacco merchants, 17; Churches, L8;
Hotels, 20; Notable and professional men, 21; Ac-
cidents and tires, 25; Education, 26.
Second period, from 1832 to 1852 26 to 44
Material development, 27; Mechanical and other
industries, 28; Other industries, 31; Mercantile and
other lines of trade, 32; Churches, )!."; Houses of
education, 36; Accidents and tires, 37: Notable and
professional men, 37; Dr. Charles Waddell and
Bishop Andrews, 31); A queer character— Sammy
Williams, 4<h Merry-go-round, 41 ; The firsthand, II :
Siamese twins, 41 1 ; Sugar beet culture, 12; Silk cul-
ture. 43; Interesting items. 43.
Last period, from 1852 to the present II
Mechanics. 44; Merchant tailors, 1."; Other indus-
tries, 4r>; Foundries, 47; Recent industries, 18;
Laundries, 4 ( .»; Furniture business, 50; Leather
business, 50; Shoe stores. 50; Wholesale groceries,
51; Silversmiths, 51; Marble works, 51; Photogra-
phers, 52; Hardware, 52; Dry goods merchants, 52;
Drag stores, 53; China stores, 55; Grocers, .">">; To-
bacco merchants, 55; Clothing stores, 56; Under-
writers, 56; Cigar shops, 56; Milliners, 57; Cream-
ery, 57; Hotels, 58; Barbers, 59; Fires and accidents,
CO; Meatmarkets, G2; Bakeries, 62; Professional
men, 62; Postmasters, 63; Literature, 64; Hanlon
Bros. Paper Co., 65; Churches, 66 to 74; Public
schools, 74; The Lodges, 77 to 79; The building as-
sociations, 79; The banks, 80; The cemeteries, 80;
Temperance movements, 81; Amusements, H2; Some
other industries, 83 to 86; Municipal organization,
86; Additions of territory, < s 7; City improvements,
s7; The B. & O. R. R— its agents here, 89; The
Friends, 90; A valuable relic, 91; Some other inter-
esting items, 91; Social and conventional changes,
95; Barnesville in the war of 1861-5, 96; The Span-
ish-American War, 101.
« v «2*
.A ^ ♦ ^^ M 4 *& •<£ J
\ t0 *-> a -^
"A^A ■*»-;>. a./
o, sTo' A ^>
\3. '».;* a
^ A^toC* ^ ° *W?^A ° «<r
. * * A ^ A
W CW- %/ :'^-. %S
D0BBSBR0S. V^V r^^Vv o ?/ \V«*
LIBRARY BINDING «$» *S3iiS* <■? <$>■ oVM\K» A^ ***>v
ST. AUGUSTINE ..^. **L (T J^/tf?^+ O j"» . ^r^.' *J
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS
llll 1 llll II I 111! Illl Hill lllll
014 750 867